Alexander & Martine

  • Germany & Belgium
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

    Our next destination:

    Italy
    View all
  • Description

    We (Martine, Alexander, Anna [2010], Moira [2012], Leander [2014]) are a Belgian-German family currently living in Germany. We went for workaway a couple of years ago and it was a great experience. The past years we renovated an old school building and were enganged in an alternative school and other projects (e. g. community based agriculture). The COVID-situation for us has made it clear that alternative structures and ideas are needed more than ever. So we decided to once again to go work awaying, meet great people and share ideas, knowledge and expierence with them.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Books
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Alexander is interested in everything technical from construction to computers. He likes doing all kinds of stuff with his hands and is good in realising projects with limited resources.
    Martine worked for not-for-profit organisations in Belgium (around nature, recreation, sustainable agriculture and education) and is a interested in indigeneous plants and pottery. She translated a book about the Economy of the Common Good and red a lot about electromagnetic radiation.
    We both know one or two things about gardening and we are always keen to learn new skills and are open to new ideas. Anna (11), Moira (9) and Leander (7) like playing with other kids and involving in spontaneous projects.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

  • Age

    43 & 47

  • Nationality

    Belgian-German

  • What else ...

    We strongly believe that life is the best school. The last years in an alternative school and COVID reignited our love of the ideas of unschooling. We are therefore looking for hosts who are open to the concept and are willing to share their knowledge and skills also with our children. It takes a village to raise a child as they say. Last but not least we adhere to a vegan diet.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      We would love to avoid cigarette smoke and elektrosmog (WLAN etc.).

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegan

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback