Mady

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/01/2020 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! My name is Mady, and I am from a very little town called Lunenburg in Nova Scotia, Canada. I recently finished my first year of studies in a Liberal Arts undergraduate degree in Halifax, NS, and have decided to take a gap year to broaden my perspective and see more of the world.
    In terms of what makes me tick... well I spend the majority of my day outdoors working, or at home at my families homestead and garden. I grew up traditional wooden boat sailing and gardening - 2 things most rural "maritimers" learn at some point. This gentle love of mine for the outdoors, oceans, and simple way of living has aged with me and now I am very passionate about sustainability and minimal living. I hope in the future to study sustainability and anthropology.

    I am hoping to connect with farm owners who practice sustainability and permaculture, and are looking for a work exchange on their farm. I am looking to gain knowledge and experience of farming, while helping people build there visions of their sustainable future!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Here are the skills I consider an asset and that may be relevant to working away:
    -traditional sailing
    -Outdoor education experience - sailing, kayaking, and wilderness instructing.
    -Working on farms
    -Gardening and permaculture knowledge
    -Respect for the environment
    -Nature and portrait photography (@madyfrellick on instagram)
    -Provisioning for sailing (Comfortable purchasing and preparing large quantities of food)
    -Comfortable and experienced with childcare

    Other skills:
    Music! Playing the guitar and piano!

  • Languages spoken

    English and French

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback