Yao

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/06/2019 - 31/07/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I have been living in the Boston area since 2012. First as a postdoctoral fellow at MIT, then worked in pharmaceutical company and also in biotech startup financing. I have a doctoral degree in Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, which I obtained in Germany (I was in Europe for 4 years). I grew up speaking Mandarin, so I am more or less tri-lingual (although my German is fading...)
    Having grown up in a farmer’s family, I am used to going to the field and help out after school. My parents and aunts and uncles used to have chickens, ducks, geese, pigs, goats… and my grandparents used to grow many fruits and vegetables, grapes, strawberry, pears, apples, eggplants, string beans, chives, celery, radish… Being among the plants and close to animals is what I am familiar with. Since 2014 I have been having a plot in a local community garden, so I have regained a lot of the gardening skills.
    I am a very social person who really likes to meet other people. I always liked traveling, to meet different people and hear their stories, to listen to different perspectives experiencing different culture, seeing different landscape, hearing different accents... I also love cooking, hiking, cycling, skiing, camping and many other outdoor activities. Lately I finally decided to take a gap from working in the corporate world, and embark on this new journey. I am curious where it will take me.
    Please feel free to ask me questions :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I was born in farming family, so I am familiar with tending plants and animals. I have experience working on construction site during school years as well, and in general quite handy. I have been told that I am a good cook. I have experience working with community, organizing events, attending people, etc. I do know a lot about biology, the nervous system (especially the fruit fly nervous system), and how the pharmaceutical industry works.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Chinese, German

  • Age

    35

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do not eat pork or beef.

Photos

Feedback