Lawrence

  • Portugal
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Friends (7)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Zanzibar Archipelago, Tanzania - from Jan 2022 until Jan 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hi, my name is Lawrence!

    I'm half Portuguese half English, architecture student.
    My main hobby is surfing but I enjoy anything related to nature, like scuba diving, camping, hiking, climbing, …

    I live in Portugal and have travelled all over Europe - from Turkey to Iceland - with my family and friends. Fun, but that's easy travel! Adventure doesn’t happen following a nob with a flag, It happens when you’re lost.

    My parents met while volunteering in Mozambique in 1995 and I grew up with all these amazing stories about their adventures in Africa.
    Two years ago I went on vacation to Mozambique and South Africa and I fell in love with it. Since then my life flipped like a pancake but I've always wanted to return to Africa :)
    This year I'm putting architecture school on hold to backpack my way from Kenya to South Africa!

    Merry Christmas! :)

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Winter sports
    Fitness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Teaching
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    General Maintenance
  • More details about your skills

    As my father was a wine maker I've done a lot of manual winery work throughout many summers in the Alentejo region of Portugal.
    The same region I grew up before moving to Lisbon.

    In the last few years I've been assembling furniture for houses in a beach resort as a part time job. I'm an assistant to my mother, an interior designer, but I work unsupervised, always manage my tasks for the day and find new ones when I'm done.
    It taught me enough basic carpentry for me to help my friend convert her van into a campervan. I enjoyed the mix of problem solving and creativity that came with this project. I'm eager to gain more experience in this area!

    I've also hosted a number of conferences in the Luso-American Foundation in Lisbon and have a level 1 bartender degree.

    In the academic side, I studied electrical and computer engineering for more than two years (didn't finish the degree) before switching to architecture school.

    I'm very capable in maths. I have studied physics, advanced calculus, and other math heavy classes in engineering.
    I also know basic coding (enough to teach introduction classes) and I have some theoretical understanding of electrical circuits and with some help I'd surely be able to put some of it into practice.

    Architecture has become my passion in the last year and I've learned a lot about the creative process through sketches, blueprints and scale models. This was my first year, so there was no computerized assistance on the development of our projects - every stage of the projects was done by hand.

    My experience with teaching is limited to helping my peers at school and uni, but I'm willing to give it a shot!

    *Workaway Experience*

    5 weeks of farming and maintenance at a Maasai cultural camp and community project near the Maasai Mara, Kenya.

    3 weeks of building a crafts showroom and comunity library with local carpenters in a mountain village in Uganda at the gates of Bwindi Impenetrable Rainforest.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    I'd really like to learn Swahili and feel comfortable teaching English and Portuguese

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    My plans are super flexible! Given that I'm not restrained by a time frame, if I'm happy and welcomed in the project, it would be great to stay and work for some time :)

    (ps: i've been infected with covid and i'm also vaccinated = very imune and a very low risk to others)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback