Luka

  • Vietnam
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Luka and I come from Croatia. Growing up there in a city full of tourist has inspired me to go and see the world, and even after 6 years of traveling I am hungry to discover more of this world of ours.

    I have lived and worked in Asia for 4 years. I taught English a lot of that time in international schools in Vietnam, Thailand and China. In the meantime I would travel to many of the neighboring countries long term, doing workaways in hostels, NGOs and farms.

    That experience has made me truly fall in love with the continent of Asia as well as the concept of this website. I believe this is an amazing platform both for hosts and volunteers to connect the world through sharing and reciprocal kindness.

    After I finished my job in Shanghai I went to travel Mexico for a year on a motorbike and to learn Spanish there. in addition to Spanish, I speak also Croatian and English.

    In Mexico I started scuba diving more seriously and got my divemaster degree that allowed me to work in Tenerife and Croatia as a dive leader for the past year.

    I love playing guitar and listening to music, but my biggest passion and creative output is writing and I hope throughout next couple of years to start making a living out of it.

    I have a bachelor degree in English language and literature and Croatian too, and most of my working experience is in schools as an English or science teacher. However I've done many other jobs as well and each of them I tried to do as well as I possibly can.

    Every day is a opportunity to learn something new and I believe this is the best approach to both work and living a good life.

    In the last six months I worked as a divemaster in Croatia, did the grape harvest in France and I just finished the Camino De Santiago. Now I am hoping to find a volunteering opportunity for the winter months until the next diving season begins.

    Even though I don't know what kind of workaway it will be or where, I know it will be an amazing experience as always!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Outdoor activities
    Languages
    Writing
    Books
    Music
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    English teacher

    Guitar player
    Scuba instructor
    Farm work
    It's been a couple of years since I worked the bar, but I could get hang of it again quick

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Croatian: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    28

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback