Luan

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (1)

Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

    My next destination:

    Japan - from Jan 2021
    View all
  • Description

    Hello everyone!! I'm Luan! I will be in Japan until Feb 2021 (possibly even later if an extension is approved) on a working-holiday visa. I've always loved japanese culture (read a lot of mangas *cheeky grin*), history and food.

    I hope to find a fun place to stay and work hard! I'm up for anything and I'm quick learner. The main thing I am looking for in a workaway is to experience authentic japanese culture and experience the daily life of a japanese person.

    I like making various small videos about different aspects japanese life, arts and culture.

    I own a car so I am also looking for a place with parking.

    Quick experience sum up: I've worked in the hospitality industry and I've been travelling across Asia the past 9 months so I know how customers and guests should be treated! I'm also a computer engineer by trade and I've worked 2 years in that industry as well. I have done multiple workaways at various hostels and guesthouses so I am good at cleaning around the house. In addition, I worked on a farm for more than a month in Gose, Nara.

  • Interests

    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Animals
    Movies & TV
    Photography
    Astronomy
    Culture
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Being an elderly companion
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Hospitality, Reception, Customer Interaction, Cleaning, Clearing snow, Driving, 6 Languages, Writing and Proof Reading (English and French), Tour/Hiking Guide, CPR, web development, IT skills, Computer skills, Basic Renovation, House Painting, Basic Circuitry, Farming, Cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Vietnamese: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

  • Age

    25

  • What else ...

    Love rock climbing, did I mention that!? Used to play competitive badminton and I would love to get back into it, I know Japan has a string badminton community, with Kento Momota being the top player in the world right now! I love any kind of outdoor activities! But I also love to hang out, kick back and have a cold one!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      bananas, peanuts and most nuts

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback