Lou & Barry

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Dominican Republic, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/10/2021 - 31/03/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    At home


    We are both cyclists and hikers. Lou is a Half Ironman and Triathlete and loves to be in or on the water. Baz is a motorcyclist and into vintage vehicles.

  • Description

    Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to read our profile and details.....we can guarantee that if we come to spend some workaway time with you then it will be a valuable and a happy experience for us all!

    We are a well travelled, hardworking and fun loving couple from the North east of England. They call us 'Geordies' - we like to think we are known throughout the world as being happy, friendly people with warm hearts and big personalities. We are just hitting our 50's - I would like to think that gives us maturity and confidence whilst still being individuals who embrace change, challenge and alternative lifestyles options and the added ability to foster positive relationships with ALL people we meet.

    Barry has all the maintenance and repair skills that any business or property might need. And what he doesn't yet know he will learn quickly! Barry has ran his own property maintenance business for many years - looking after the interior and exterior of customer homes. This has included plumbing, installations, painting and decorating, electrical work, carpentry and joinery, tiling and flooring and full garden re-vamps , fencing and landscaping.
    Using some of these skills Barry has converted 3 vehicles into campervans with full interior re-fits and basic vehicle maintenance and servicing. Check out our current project which has become our sactuary during the last difficult year - a fully coverted 7.5 tonne horsebox complete with solar. We have added some before and after photos just to show the practical and creative skills we have on offer.
    We have always used motorbikes when travelling and Baz has a full motorcycle licence - he has a great passion for biking and learning about all things bike - including maintenance and upkeep. Barry likes to have a project and be busy - and everything he does is done to a high standard and in a clean, tidy and safe manner. If there is a job to do, he will do it. If there is no job to do - he will find one!!!!
    Barry keeps fit and active - not just through hard work but with cycling and hiking and we go away to do just this in our truck most weekends. Barry has been camping and caravanning for years and is skilled with setting up all different styles of camp and equipment. Most years we spend some time on a small island community in New Zealand where Barry is able to learn more about solar power and has installed panels and built housing for them, composting toilets and we both help out on a crayfish boat - pulling and baiting pots and sizing fish.
    Barry has brought up 2 children and is able to motivate and work with people of all ages and is loving the opportunity to involve himself with new people and cultures. Known throughout the land as 'a great guy'!

    Lou ( I ) have two parts to my life experience so far as I have spent a large amount of time working in travel - which has been seasonal work - and this has allowed me to keep up with my career of working with socially disadvantaged people in the 'off season'.
    I have worked with people with physical and mental disability, managed homeless accommodation and worked in supported housing and hostels, worked with refugee and asylum seekers and most recently with adults and young people with drug and alcohol problems. This requires a huge amount of self confidence, ability to adapt to change and make very important and often immediate decisions, patience and empathy. I would say my greatest strength is to communicate positively with others.
    Working as a tour manager allowed me to travel, learn new skills and develop as an individual. I have a huge historical and practical knowledge of other countries and, like Barry, what I don't know I will research and very quickly be able to pass on information and stories to other travellers and excite them about exploring where they are. I have travelled South America, Central America, Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines, Cambodia, Vietnam, Fiji, Australia, New Zealand, USA and all of Europe.

    I have worked in a dive shop and was chef on a liveaboard on the Great Barrier reef, was chef and hostess on a sailing yacht in Malaysia, helped out in backpackers in Australia and managed the only pub on a small island in New Zealand - including managing the WWOOF staff there and booking guests and welcoming them to the island.

    Together we have completed 3 workaway projects . We have offered our skills in maintenance, in groundswork and gardeners as breakfast cooks, housekeeping and meeting and welcoming new guests to properties. Barry has completed large and specialised maintenance projects too in Thailand and Colombia.

    Basically we are two people who love to work, to be busy, to take on projects and see them through to the end, to be around people learning and laughing along the way and hopefully bringing only good experiences and benefits to others.

    Thanks for reading and maybe see you soon!
    Lou and Barry

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Sailing / Boating
    Adventure sports
    Water sports
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Languages

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house

    Able to teach about:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
  • More details about your skills

    Lou -
    * tour guiding including the organisation and planning of itineraries, information research and sharing of relevant information in a fun and memorable manner
    * teaching and motivation of others including teaching life skills and English language
    * counselling skills - sensitivity, listening and problem solving - specialising in addictions counselling
    * team leading and management
    * hospitality skills including the preparation and cooking of food, table service, 'Girl Friday' chores as boat crew, bar work , cash handling, hostel work and pub and backpackers management.
    * ability to offer excellent customer service
    * home maker skills including creative interior design and attention to detail, upkeep of garden and day to day running and cleanliness of household.
    * outdoor adventure skills including map reading and orientation, trekking, kayaking and camping
    *advanced Scuba diver
    *confident driver
    * ability to identify a task and complete it with a smile!

    Barry -
    * team leading and management skills
    * business and money management
    * renovation and restoration
    * joinery and carpentry
    * plumbing, and electrical repair, installation and maintenance
    * creative problem solving
    * general property maintenance
    * hospitality work experience including bar work
    * gardening and landscaping
    * bicycle maintenance, caravan and campervan re-fit and renovation
    * full Motorcycle licence
    *confident driver of a wide range of vehicles
    * outdoor leisure skills including cycle challenges, orientation, kayaking, camping and caravanning preparation and maintenance
    *parenting
    * independent working to deadlines and prioritising work

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner
    Italian: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    Lou has worked a tour director in Europe and to her disgrace didnt take the time to really concentrate on language improvement! However I am very quick at picking up language again and travels to South America and Europe in recent years have enabled me to keep my basic knowledge and learn new vocabulary. Barry isnt quite so adept! We believe that immersion with native speakers and culture is the best way to improve. Lou has also ESOL training so could support English language training.

  • Age

    49 & 53

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Whether meeting us as individuals or together as a team you will find two happy and competent people who will bring energy and positive outcomes to your home, business and community.
    We both have our unique skills bank and knowledge and when added together you will have an all encompassing package with a great deal of flexibility and can - do approach.

    We were hoping to be away now from Oct 2020 but alas Covid had others ideas. We are determined and optimistic that we should be able to come away in Oct 2021 for 6 months and intend to hit the road through Europe then, finding opportunities in France, Italy, Spain and Portugal. We are extremely flexible in this, reaslising that it is a privelege to be able to share your countries with you. We can stay in our horsebox and therefore be totally self sufficient and would have cycles and a scooter with us so really independant too if that suits your needs and you have a space to park.

    Our life experiences and self belief means that we decided to make changes in how we live our own lives therefore our life plan is to stay and work in the UK for 18 month periods and then travel for 6 months - until we can take early retirement and travel for much longer periods - living sustainably, travelling, learning and living alongside other peoples and cultures whatever and wherever this may be.
    We cant wait for the challenge and the adventure and hope that we can share this with you!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback