Laurie

  • Canada
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Laurie, a happy, healthy & eco conscious Canadian woman. I have always thrived amongst change & new experiences so have been gathering knowledge & skills all this wonderful life. I love to meet & learn from people, I see us as all connected.
    I am a hard worker with an optimistic outlook & find joy in what some may call mundane.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    Eco Projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Animal Care
  • More details about your skills

    Here are some past experiences that I feel may benefit a workaway host:
    - spent 4 winter months in Northern Alberta as the lone carer for a small cattle farm including welcoming 4 new babies!
    - cultivated a small garden plot, building up the soil from raw bush land
    -worked in construction (including framing, drywall, painting, tiling, roofing & basic plumbing),
    -provided administration support (including reception & accounting, proficient in many software programs),
    -housekeeping & commercial cleaner,
    -classroom education assistant within a very low socio-economic primary school,
    -fund raising for theatres & youth groups,
    -picked fruit in an organic orchard,
    -volunteered in animal shelters & non profit youth groups,
    -worked extensively in most areas of hospitality (including front of house, bartender & cook),
    -taught English in China & Vietnam (both in a school settings & private tutoring),
    Also, I spent most of my childhood in the country, we always had dogs, cats & horses. My summers were spent on my grandparent's farm where they had cows, pigs, chickens & sometimes ducks or geese. I am down to earth, adaptable & get along with everybody I meet.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    51

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    My life has been organically evolving into a minimalistic existence for the last several years culminating in 2019 when I sold or gave away most everything I couldn't carry. My intentions were to backpack through Central & South America, I was in Panama March 2020 when that trajectory came to an abrupt halt.
    Four months of intense, country wide lock down gave me an opportunity like none other to go inwardly to contemplate all that I had so far experienced in my 50 years of this life.

    It's been an an amazing adventure of the senses & I am content that I have thoroughly said yes! with an open heart & willing feet.

    During those months of lockdown, I spent countless hours nurturing a place of meditation out of a forgotten garden corner. A large boulder left by some ancient torrent had called to me from under some 50 years of garden trimmings & I began from there. It was during that time & for the first time in this life, that I fully felt an intimate connection to all of nature even the rocks. Once we know, we cannot un-know.

    I realized that these next 50 years look towards living in harmony with the seasons of our Mother Earth & in community of like minded individuals, all working towards the same in their own unique & necessary way.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback