Lauren

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Costa Rica, France, Guatemala, Italy, Panama, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2020 - 01/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Howdy! I'm Lauren, I grew up in Dallas, Texas and I'm currently earning my BFA in Photography with a double minor in Sustainability and Social Justice at the Pratt Institute in Brooklyn, New York.
    I volunteer at my community garden, Hattie Carthran, on the weekends and begin a Farm Intensive Certification (FIC) in September. I’m interested in learning more about urban farm planning, permaculture, botany and food justice.
    I’m on workaway because I’m interested in taking a break from city life, using my hands to help and learning about different ways of life.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have experience with teaching art/photography lessons to children and adults. I found this very rewarding and learned that I want to have a career in education.
    I can cook for large groups, often I have friends and neighbors over for vegetarian meals.
    I have grown up with animals all my life and understand how to tend to them. I also have volunteered at Best Friends Animal Society where they take in all types of animals, including farm animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English, basic Spanish

  • Age

    21

  • What else ...

    I'm a photographer, I love telling stories through images and connecting with others through storytelling. People often describe me as observant, easy going and kind :)
    I’m applying for the Peace Corps this December and I feel that having a work away experience will be helpful.

    p.s- My chocolate chip cookies are amazing!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian/ vegan diet

Photos

Feedback