Lizzy & Zachary

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Croatia, France, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/06/2019 - 15/10/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hello! Hola!
    We are Lizzy and Zach, two American friends who currently live in Northern Spain. We both speak English and Spanish and have been working as English teachers for the past two years but now we are ready for a change of pace! Lizzy is a writer and enjoys biking, swimming, dancing, art, and playing the guitar. Zach spends his time painting, making music, writing, reading, hiking and biking.
    We share an interest in stories and their ability to help us learn and see new perspectives. Whether we’re creating them, hearing them, or telling them we’ve found that the best stories come from engaging in conversation with the people around us. Traveling through workaway gives us the opportunity to share and listen to more stories.
    We have both had the pleasure of working with many interesting people who we are still in touch with today. Between the two of us, we have a wide range of experience from wine production to restoration projects. We are easy going, creative, motivated and work well collaboratively as well as independently. We are prepared to work hard and help you complete the projects of your dreams!
    We have no allergies or dietary restrictions, are comfortable sharing accommodation if need be, and have our own tent with sleeping bags, just let us know if we need to bring them!
    We look forward to hearing from you!



    Here is a little more information about us!




    Hello, my name is Zach. I am 23 years old and for the past two years I have been living and working as an English teacher in Spain, currently in Basque Country. I grew up in small town Nebraska, and later in a town close to New York City. I have a range of work experience from wine production to cemetery care and grave digging. My experiences in renovation, property maintenance, landscaping, tree clearing, fence building, gate construction, house painting, window washing, and general construction is mostly from several handyman helper jobs, a construction project of an underground efficiency house in the style of a hobbit house, and restoring a very old house in the forest. I have worked for many years house painting, both independently contracting and with a team. I also have experience in gardening, farming, harvesting, composting, wine production, the drying and storage of herbs and vegetables, and basic care of horses, goats, and chickens.
    I worked as a WWOOF volunteer in Portugal and that experience introduced me to work exchange programs like Workaway. I am a hard worker and work well independently as well as collaboratively, I consider myself to be a quick learner and adaptable. I enjoy learning from others, learning new skills, and trying new ways of living and working, My hobbies include music, painting, biking, hiking, reading, languages, and cooking. I am very passionate about the arts and enjoy doing visual art, particularly painting and photography. I have had the luck of exhibiting recently but just enjoy passing most of my time making art!. I love to hear stories and have had the good fortune of working for many interesting people who I am still in touch with. I hope we can learn from each other and accomplish the projects you have been dreaming of!



    Hi, I’m Lizzy. I’m 23 years old and grew up in a small, coastal town in Massachusetts. After graduating with a degree in Communication and English, I moved to Barcelona to teach English and work on my writing. While I’ve loved living in such an international city and meeting people from all over the world for the past year, I’m ready to take a break from the chaos of a city and travel in a more sustainable way. I’m curious about new people and new ways of living. I enjoy conversation and stories and hope to share and learn from each other.
    I’m a creative, so I like projects. Whether it’s building a garden wall or refurbishing furniture, I like to reimagine and redesign. I’m motivated and adapt quickly to new environments. My Dad is an architect and carpenter and I’ve learned a lot of carpentry skills from helping him renovate our house (very slowly!) My Mom is a passionate gardener so I’ve helped her design and build gardens, plan and plant, and harvest vegetables and herbs. I have work experience with interior and exterior painting, yard work, permaculture gardening, planting trees and re-greening neighborhoods, furniture repair, set design, sewing, writing, teaching and video production. In my free time I like to write, paint, draw, dance, play guitar, sing, cook and bike. I hope to share stories and experiences, and learn from our work together.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Permaculture
    Carpentry
    Farming
    Property maintenance
    Renovation
    Landscaping
    Teaching
    Cooking
    Sewing
    Painting (interior and exterior)
    Wine Prouction
    Animal Care
    Window Washing
    Trench digging
    Fence building

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    23 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback