Maria

From: Denmark

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Namibia ... more

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/11/2018 - 15/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    *️️️️*️️️️UPDATE 03.11.2019*️️️️*️️️️
    I'm free again to travel, so that is what I will do! :D After I graduated from university in summer 2018 I had a "real" job( Maternity leave cover for 10 months) within my profession, working with nature and landscape legeslation. Great experience, but it also made me realise that I feel too young to settle down like that yet.
    I'm very interested in sustainability, vegetable gardens/permaculture, educational work and farming. And I LOVE animals (especially horses and dogs) so all work involved with that would be awesome. :)
    In the beginning of October I came home to Denmark after having worked 3 months in Iceland as a tourgide, taking turists out on horseback rides, telling them about the landscape and horses. It was awesome and I loved it!


    *** Profile description***
    Hallo or “hejsa” as we say in danish :)
    I’m a 25 years old girl that has my roots in the little Scandinavian country called Denmark.
    I have always had a strong urge to travel ever since I as a 9 years old kid were brought along on my ant and uncle’s summer hiking adventures in Europe.
    That urge made me go 10,5 months to New Zealand on my own after I graduated from high school summer 2013. I loved my time there, where I got some amazing experiences and fantastic friends. I spend time with 4 wonderful families the Workaway-stile, and leaned a lot about how this system works.
    For various reasons I had to comeback to Denmark, and decided that getting a little education before flying away one more time would be a good idea. So I applied for a spot at University, studying Forestry and nature management. Then while I was waiting for school to start I squeezed in a little trip to a workaway family in Lapland (Sweden) for a month.

    Now (after 4 years of studying) I’m a happy Forest- and landscapeengineer, with etching feet to go traveling again.
    I’m pretty relaxed, outgoing, get along with all kind of people, like to laugh and have a burning desire to soak up knowledge about the world, people and the environment I find myself in.
    I take great pride in doing a good job and I always do my very best. I like to finish a job, i’m not a clock watcher and I love to learn new things and get my hands dirty! It is all part of the experience.
    Gaining new skills, enjoying nature and get to know new people is why I’m traveling and is exactly why I find workaway so great! :)
    I enjoy making food(learn new recipes), fishing, hunting, walking/hiking, horses and horse riding/ in general animals, drawing, music, nature, and laughing! :)

    Thank you for taking the time to read my profile. Do not hesitate contacting me if you think you could use my help!
    Looking forward to hear from you!
    Best Regards
    - Maria

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I am up for trying everything, I go to work with a positive attitude.
    I have experience with, either professional/working or though workaway stays, the following things.

    Indoor;
    -Cleaning
    -Cooking
    -Painting
    IT/computer.
    -Know how to use QGIS. (program for making maps) and normal computer work.
    Outdoor;
    - Farm work. Pretty much everything you could think of!
    - Sheep farming. Shearing, drenching, drafting of sheep.
    - Worked with sled dog(Huskey dogs) doing summer in Sweden. Feeding and watering, poo picking, walking them ect.
    - Painting.
    - Basic chainsaw handling at Uni. Took down 8 tree.
    - Garden work. Weeding ect.
    - Horses. Feeding, riding, mucking out, ect.

    Jobs;
    - Waitressing
    - House keeping
    - Dishwasher/ kitchen hand
    - Forest ranger. (My profession)
    - Tour guide on horseback in Iceland.
    Other;
    - I know alot about forest and nature because of my study, I would love to use that! :)
    - I’m have a Danish hunting licence.
    - I have a 12 hours first aid certificate from June 2019.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Danish: Beginner
    German: Beginner
    Norwegian: Beginner
    Sami: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Danish

  • What else ...

    This is my references from other hosts about me from another website similar to workaway. It is called helpx.

    Host Name: Chas and Dietlind Host Listing: click here
    Network: New Zealand Date: April 27, 2014
    Maria stayed with us for nearly two months and what a germ. She became an important team member on the farm and she did all jobs from drenching, pressing wool, classing, mustering sheep, tailing the list is endless. Maria helped supported us in helping us with the accommodation and conference venue and she worked long hours. She became an important part of our family and the children are still talking about her. We just can highly recommend her as a helper and if you have the opportunity to get hold of her -grab her. Hope to see you before you will leave NZ

    Host Name: Derek Host Listing: click here
    Network: New Zealand Date: September 10, 2013
    Maria stayed a week with me to help with a young horse that I wanted ridden each day to get a bit of experience she also helped out with some housework. Maria was a pleasure to have around the place always pitching in and helping without needing to be asked. A smart helpful girl very mature for her age I highly recommend her as an intelligent conscientious and reliable helper

    Host Name: Niels & Carolyn Andersen Host Listing: click here
    Network: New Zealand Date: September 6, 2013
    Maria was an extremely good worker, friend and now part of our family we miss her and did not want her to go. She did every task that was set with great ease did more than what she was asked and felt extremely guilty has we had a few wet days and she did not like sitting around. We wish you well in your travels Maria.

    Highly recommend

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

One of my drawings, inspired by the traditional maori drawings and symbols.
El Camino 2015. walked 790 km. through amazing Spain.

Feedback