Jenny

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Fiji, India, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Paraguay, Sri Lanka, Uruguay, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/01/2013 - 30/11/2021

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    I am a young at heart 49 year old that is spending time exploring the world in all its beauty for over 6 years now.
    I am very interested in alternative and community living, holistic therapies, natural healing, music, dance, spirituality, philosophy, anthropology, numerology and much much more. I have just competed my Reike level 1. I believe there is energy in every being and we are all connected :)
    I am a trustworthy, hardworking and an enthusiastic person who really loves to help all areas of work, learn new things and experience different cultures of which I have been privileged to be a part of in many countries.
    At home i live in a shared house of artists and musicians and am always helping out with whatever their current project is. I help with the upkeep of the house, chickens, dogs and cats.
    I also had a full time job as a Strategic Account Manager (sales) which i was very sucessful in and gave me the opportunity retire early and travel :-)

    Regarding my workaway experiences, I have worked at hostels before. My last two positions were at hostels in Guatemala ( the second hostel I came back for a second time) Here I did many things including reception, checking in, bar, restaurant and arranging tours.
    Other volunteer positions include working
    with a few charities including rescued big cats in Bolivia, bears in Cambodia elephants in Sri Lanka, teaching English and helping at a children support centre for the under 5 year olds.
    I've also been a housekeeper where I cooked and cleaned and again looked after the guests. I have helped build an eco resort, mixing cement, mosaics, etc.
    I also spent 6 weeks living at Finca Morpho in Costa Rica which is a small tight knit nomadic regenerative, educational, experimental, permaculture, intentional community which was a great experience.
    All of these positions required a minimum commitment of month but many times I stayed longer.
    I hope when you read my profile it will convince you that i am not afraid of hard work :-)

    After travelling around South East Asia I ended my time there in Sri Lanka. I was lucky enough to live with a local family just outside Thissa, close to Yala park. Again learning about their culture, sharing, learning and helping them in every way I could.
    Now back over travelling Central and south America and am currently in Guatemala where I have been now for over 10 months (I wish to stay longer :-) )
    I'm looking for a new experience where I can help, learn, share, be a part of again :-)
    All things in life interest me so if i am applying i promise to give you all my help and commitment for as long as i stay with you.
    Laughter comes in the package as my friends always say i always have a smile and enthusiasm in everything i do
    Thanks for reading my profile
    Jenny :)))

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Hard worker
    trustworthy
    loyal
    practical
    helpful
    enthusiastic
    adaptable
    Business knowledge
    Flexible
    Adapt to most jobs
    Good company, fun and smiles
    Interested in alternative living
    Spirituality
    Reiki level 1

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Khmer: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    Although i said yes to smoking i am a social smoker so if i am around smokers then i will also have the odd 2 or 3 but depending on where and what I am doing so if your looking for a non smoker I can be that also :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback