lisastepanek

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Macedonia, Moldova, Republic of, Mongolia, Montenegro, Romania, Tajikistan

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2019 - 07/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    394

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hi,
    my name is Lisa, I'm 20 years old and currently living in the beautiful capital of Austria, Vienna. I discovered Workaway when I was looking for Volunteering opportunities around the world as I'm very keen on traveling the world and learning new things. I've been an exchange student to Sweden in 2014/15, a place I now consider my second home. I learned lots during this year abroad and became definitely more mature and independent at a young age. I would describe myself as a very open-minded person who is eager to learn and grow with every task or challenge I'm facing. I know what it's like to live in a family away from home and how much effort it actually takes to understand different habits and cultures. The only "bad" thing which came along with my exchange year was the constant Wanderlust I have since then. ;)

    But I also want to tell you a bit more about my background, what I've done so far in my life and what I would like to do in the near future :)
    I've attended an art school in Austria from which I graduated in 2017. At the school, I joined the theatre branch for one year. The following year, I went to Sweden and attended an art school there as well with a focus on media and social studies. Coming back from my exchange I also got back to my former school but changed from theatre to the arts and crafts branch. My educational background as you can see was all about creativity and that is something, I still enjoy and wanna work with in the future. Skills that I gained are for example editing pictures with Adobe Programs (Photoshop, Lightroom...) and expanding my skills in photographing and filming.

    Something I strongly believe in is the saying "Communication is the key" - because I experienced myself that misunderstandings just are the outcome of a lack of communication. Therefore, I'm not afraid to ask questions to understand tasks given to me properly. Also, honesty is really important to me in all life situations.
    That said, I love to discuss various topics and I'm highly interested in politics and all kinds of social & cultural differences. This is why I moved to Vienna in autumn 2018 to study media and communications science at the University of Vienna.

    Since returning from Sweden, I volunteer for my exchange student organization. This includes doing interviews with exchange student candidates, organizing information meetings, writing articles, taking pictures, creating videos and regularly attending seminars where we prepare 14 to 17-year-olds for living one year abroad. I love taking over responsibility and organizing different events.

    I was riding an Araber horse when I was younger and took lessons for about 3 years, but unfortunately not on a regular basis, which means I'm not an advanced rider. I had to stop taking riding lessons at the age of 14 when I changed school and it was impossible for me to keep up with it. Nevertheless, I re-discovered my love for horses when I was able to take care of another Araber horse during my time in Sweden while the owner was away for travels. At my parents' house, I have 2 dogs who are Berner Sennen and Border Collie hybrid and 1 cat, so I'm used to being around animals. The only animals I'm deeply afraid of are spiders and snakes ;)

    I don't have any siblings, but a quite big family and I love spending time with family & friends while eating good food and having interesting conversations (I'm definitely a food-lover and unfortunately also a little bit addicted to chocolate...)

    In between graduating and starting at university (in total one and a half year), I was working as a shop assistant at the duty-free shop at our local airport. The international environment and being able to support customers with any of their questions made my first "real" work experience a very exciting one.

    To sum it all up, I like to give my best, try out new stuff, experience and learn - and I'm very keen on helping you with anything you need. Oh and last but not least, I'm not that kind of a party girl either, I don't smoke and don't drink alcohol except a glass of wine or something like that on a special occasion.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    - Helping you with office/administrative work or with anything in the field of photography, creating videos or writing/creating a blog
    - Cleaning (I love nothing more than being organized and to clean up, probably because of the Scandinavian minimalism I was confronted with for one year ;) )
    - Helping you with household chores (I'm definitely not the best cook I must admit, but I know how to make the "basic" meals and I love to try out new recipes - and I do love baking!!)
    - Helping with Tourists or Clients (I know how to spread good vibes and I love to work in an international environment)
    - Teaching one of the languages I'm fluent in (German is my mother tongue, Swedish, English on an advanced level)
    - Taking care of animals (I'm not afraid of getting my hands dirty and willing to help if you tell me what needs to be done)
    - MAYBE taking care of kids and looking after them (I'm an only child and have never really been around toddlers, so I would be most comfortable with kids 7 years or older)

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, Swedish, the very basics of French and Italian

  • Age

    21

  • Nationality

    Austria

  • What else ...

    Don't hesitate to contact me or to ask me any question you might have, I normally answer quickly. I'm looking forward to volunteer at your place soon. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback