Lisa

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile, Italy, Japan, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    04/08/2019 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi!

    My name is Lisa, I am a french architect.
    I am always looking forward to volunteering abroad because it is the perfect opportunity for me to be immersed in a foreign culture and meet new people to share experience, ideas and knowledge.

    I have had six different workaway experiences around the world so far in the past four years, which have been incredibly rewarding. Since then, my way of traveling has changed: I'd rather aim to see little of a country but through the eyes and experience of locals, than see a lot as a tourist. Workaway has taken me places I would have never gone, and for that I am so grateful. It makes traveling so much more interesting, and opens new horizons.

    I have had an outstanding experience in rural Japan a year ago, which was based on sharing. I learnt about traditional weaving and dyeing, as well as permaculture. I enjoyed my tasks so much I never considered them as "work". This is why I now look for workaway hosts through the type of help, hoping to learn more about arts & crafts and gardening (which are never work for me, but really a hobby).

    I grew up gardening in my backyard, growing vegetables, fruits and flowers. Even while living in New York, I managed to create a garden on the roof of my building: growing lettuces, tomatoes, peppers and all kinds of flowers, which brought an ecosystem of bees, ants and flies on the last floor of a seven-storey industrial building.
    I have also always tried to develop my creativity through arts and crafts, getting inspiration in all kinds of designs, and using it to create my own crafts, mixing techniques.

    I love sharing what I have learnt from others. I have volunteered a few times with kids, teaching english, origami and other kinds of arts and crafts. I am fluent in french and english, and I speak a bit of Spanish.
    During my architecture studies I started learning about landscaping and sustainable construction which I would love to share if ever it was needed on site.

    I love drawing, hiking, biking, discovering new food, cooking and visiting new places. I always look for great architecture and design around.

    I hope that my profile will match with your needs.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can help with all kind of arts and crafts like: origami, weaving, sewing, beading, fixing furniture, woodwork.
    I enjoy very much gardening, and I have experience with permaculture design (which I learnt in rural China and Japan).
    I can teach english and french.
    I can use different computer softwares like: AutoCAD/ Vectorworks/ Photoshop/ InDesign/ Illustrator/ sketchup / Rhino/ Vray/ Excel/ Word.
    I enjoy cooking/eating, I make my own bread.

  • Languages spoken

    French/English/Spanish

  • Age

    32

  • Nationality

    French

  • What else ...

    I can't wait to meet new people, learn about a new culture and exchange ideas and knowledge.
    I am very open and respectful.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback