Lily

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Greece, Italy, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2013 - 20/07/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hello, my name is Lily and I am 26 years old. I have duel British/New Zealand nationality.

    I had the great joy of experiencing workaway a couple of years ago during my gap year (mostly travel in Australia and Greece). It was such an amazing experience and, having dusted off my Workaway profile again after a couple of years, i am hoping to meet and share experiences with new people. Currently in full time employment, I am looking for experiences in Europe for a couple of weeks at a time where i can make myself useful during my time off !

    I am bilingual in English and French (currently living in France) and have a basic knowledge of Spanish.

    I have a full driving license (since i was 17), and can also drive off-road bikes (8 years of motocross) and tractors.

    My last workaway experiences were in education (home schooling 2 wonderful children - 8 and 12 years old - in Greece and generally helping about on a sailing boat) and in farming (working on a rural horse ranch and race horse facility).

    I grew up in rural France, with my parents and 6 siblings on our organic vineyard and have been raised with a strong work ethic. I have always enjoyed helping out around farms and am used to outdoor physical work. I am also used to children (all ages) and have experience in child-care not only from growing up being the eldest of 7 but also from babysitting work when i was younger and from my current job where i often work with children in groups.

    My parents were also workaway hosts over the years, so i am familar with workaway on both sides ! (And have met so many wonderful people that our family is still in touch with today).

    I love sports and being outdoors. I played rugby for 3 years (wing) at university, enjoyed competitive motorcross for 8 years, i also love rock-climbing (about a 5c or 6a level depending on the day), athletics and more recently weight training !

    I have undergraduate degrees in biological sciences (majoring in ecology) and in media / communications and marketing. I have a masters degree in Science communications and education and am currently working in that field.
    As such, I would love to help out in any wildlife or ecology projects ! I also have a passion for communicating science with the public so i would be more than happy to help out with any communication outreach, social media platforms or on site visitor education.

    I love any animals big or small ! I am a competent horse rider and had a beautiful mare for 6 years who i trained and rode cross country. (This was a couple of years ago now though). I have also grown up around large dogs (new foundlands and great danes), cats, hamsters, and various farm animals (ducks, chickens, rabbits, pigs, sheep, goats...).

    I also have various vet experience : i completed multiple vet and wildlife work experiences (lasting a couple of weeks to 3 months) in the goal of becoming a vet before my bachelors. Life had other plans for me in the end, but i still greatly enjoy working with animals.

    My wildlife / animal / vet work experience includes :
    - race horses / horse specialised clinic
    - multiple generalised vet clinics
    - specialised exotic pets clinics
    - wildlife hospitals
    - kennels and catterys
    - farms (cattle and general)

    As a side note, i am a fan of comic books (and I have way too many superhero tshirts), film (some of my recent(ish) favourties include Interstellar, Arrival, Parasite, The quiet place...), documentaries, reading (non-fiction and fiction) and video games (i'm a big fan of the Lara Croft series and have nearly finished Zelda Breath of Wild, which I have loved).

    Random facts about me :
    - I've had a pair of shoes destroyed by a very grumpy binturong
    - A small army of quokkas once stole all the food from my tent when i was camping


    In general, i am very motivated, ready to help with what ever is needed. I'm always open to new challenges, am hardworking, honest and reliable.

    Apologies for the long presentation ! Please feel free to send me a message !

    Best wishes,
    Lily

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Full Driving License
    Can drive a tractor/ off road bike
    Fluent in English and French
    Experienced in child care and education
    Experienced in animal care
    Basic knowledge in vegetable gardening
    Physically strong with good stamina
    Knowledge in ecology

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. Please contact them directly to discuss this with them.

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    British/ New Zealand

  • What else ...

    I am a positive, happy person and have a good broad base of skills to offer my hosts. My family have been hosts for several years and I have been lucky enough to have the work away experience from the host's view point, hopefully this makes me an ideal workawayer!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Hiking in Province, France
The Pyrenées
Les Calanques de Corse
Guadeloupe
Cycling Rottnest Island
Kiwi the hamster !
Mark the cat
Hiking South of France
Working with wild horses saved from wild fires. South Australia.
Workaway sailing in Greece

Feedback