Liene

From: Latvia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2020 - 31/12/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    UPDATE: I have already found a host for September - December 2020. Thank you for your huge interest! :)
    I am a positive-minded person and have a passion for languages, culture, travel, psychology, and pedagogy.
    I am close to native English speaker (I've got a degree in English Philology and English has been my work language for 9 years), I like to teach English to both children and adults (It has been my hobby for many years), and I have recently got my TEFL certificate => hurray, I am finally a qualified English teacher!
    I am currently studying Italian on my own, therefore, I'm searching for an opportunity to acquire this beautiful language through daily practice in the country where it's being spoken.
    I'd love to help a family with children by doing what I enjoy most - teaching English! - and I would be happy to help with some house keeping chores, too. :)
    I love traditional Italian food - food is an important part of the culture.
    Oh and what else - I like dogs very much!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion

    Some knowledge of:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    As mentioned earlier, I am a close to native British English speaker, and I enjoy teaching English both to young and mature learners. Teaching English is a thing I have done mostly as a hobby / side job as for years I have been busy at my full-time work (I have been employed by international companies only with English and Norwegian as the main business languages).
    Out of my enthusiasm for teaching I decided to take a 5 level TEFL course to take my, initially, free-time activity to the next level, and I acquired the certificate during the pandemic. :)
    I find it extremely important to teach correct, native-like pronunciation (by the way, Teaching English Pronunciation to young learners was the theme of my Bachelor thesis) and to turn the learning into a effortless, fun, and pleasant experience.
    Just in case you are interested - I am a proficient speaker of Norwegian, too, besides Latvian (it is one of the two Baltic languages) as my mother tongue, and I have experience in teaching these languages, too.
    Besides, I have some knowledge and experience in digital marketing, I like children and pets, and I like to keep my place clean and tidy.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Norwegian: Fluent
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Age

    30

  • What else ...

    I like reading, listening to music, and having meaningful conversations with people. I am a good listener. I like stories about the old days. I am usually liked by both children and elderly people.
    For many years I have been a choir singer and last year I discovered dancing (I started learning salsa and tango). These things help me to stay happy, positive and open-minded. :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback