Liberty

From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    31/07/2019 - 15/12/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hey there! I’m Liberty and I’m have been travelling and living around Europe for over a year now. I am 23 years old and although I was born in England, I grew up in a small town called Napier in Hawkes Bay, New Zealand.
    Here is a brief life bio, so you can get some background on me, I’ll try to keep it short and sweet although I do tend to ramble so if you make it to the end, I’m impressed!
    I am an avid traveller and have been since the day I left home at 17. I moved to Nice, France at the start of 2014 the year after I finished high school and spent 10 months there working in a restaurant/bar and living the dream on the French Riviera. I used to speak a little French but after nearly 4 years away I have lost most of it!
    I then travelled a little throughout Europe before returning home to move to the capital city of New Zealand, Wellington. After spending 2 years there I moved to Melbourne for a bigger and more exciting life and I certainly got it! In this city I met many amazing and inspiring people and lived a busy, exciting life there for just over two years. Within this time I spent 5 months travelling Asia with my, now, best buddy and travel partner, Mads. In July 2018 I booked a one way flight with my best friend, my life in my backpack and no plans - the best way to do it and
    since then we've been adventuring (5 months) and working (now 7 months in Amsterdam) in Europe.
    My first experience with Workaway was after a 3 month journey through Spain, Portugal and France last summer and after hearing many successful and inspirational stories from Workaway I was eager to dive into new and stimulating experiences. I spent a nearly a month doing two Workaway's and absolutely adored it! Although I am very flexible and open minded, I would love to do something involving animal welfare (dedicating my time to helping animals is a dream), permaculture or sustainable farming (I am especially interested in the production of wine and olive oil - I would bath in it if could!) I have no problem getting my hands dirty and challenging myself physically and mentally. I love and am comfortable with all creatures big, small, furry, feathery and scaly. I grew up in rural New Zealand surrounded by various animals from a young age. I'm particularly fond of dogs and horses - although I haven’t had horses for a few years, they used to rule my life, I rode and competed for many years growing up.
    Animal welfare and environmental sustainability are some things very close to my heart - I am a vegan of three years and this only enhances my strong passion for cooking and exploring culture through food. Although veganism is important to me, I wholeheartedly respect that we all have our own views and beliefs! I don’t push mine on others and believe everyone should do what feels right for them and makes them happy, because that’s exactly what I do. I am very keen to learn more about minimal impact and eco-friendly ways of living. I also enjoy scuba diving, surfing (extremely new to it but love it!) - the sea is where my heart is, music, hiking, cooking, meditation.
    I consider myself extremely motivated, dependable and respectful, but also very sociable, outgoing and in general a pretty happy person! I am generally a pretty chilled and go with the flow person with a positive outlook who tries to find happiness and contentment in all that I do. I practise meditation and mindfulness is something very important to me, I try to float through this life as free spirited as I can and love to meet like minded people!
    Some of my philosophies are; taking each day as it comes and finding peace in the knowing everything happens for a reason, trying to see the positive side to everything life throws at me, believing that kindness generates kindness... You get the idea!!
    I Started travelling again mid August, and have been making my way down he Balkans and loving it. I would love to continue doing Workaway's as I love meeting new people and engrossing myself in different cultures, learning along the way and find the whole experience truly enlightening.
    Please see my best Mads' account as we hope to do a workaway together. We will be travelling together come September. If you would like any more info or have any questions or are looking for a travel buddy don’t hesitate to reach out!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work

  • What skills do you have?

    I am very comfortable around all animals and have had experience with looking after many growing up, I am an extremely hard worker and motivated/quick learner.
    I’ve had over 8 years of hospitality experience behind me working as a waitress/bartender/barista/manager so possess the ability to work well within a team and work long and hard hours under pressure.
    I believe you should try everything at least once - I am up for pretty much anything, especially things out of my comfort zone.
    I like to surround myself with likeminded people - a good sense of humour, high spirits and open minds!

  • Languages spoken

    English mother tongue, French very minimal - It’s been a few years!

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    New Zealand

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Profile is connected to:

laurenscarborough

madelinetaylor6237


Photos

Feedback