Liam

  • Canada
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (2)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am extremely passionate about nature, including any travel and outdoor recreation activities (e.g. hiking, camping, kayaking, skiing, etc.) which allow me to experience and appreciate our beautiful and fascinating planet. The more adventurous and unique the experience the better. I am open-minded and enjoy being exposed to and learning new cultures, lifestyles, and world perspectives. I am a strong advocate and practitioner of environmental conservation/restoration/sustainability and do my best to protect our planet in whatever ways I can by living minimally (e.g. living in a tiny home), being as self sufficient as possible (e.g. growing my own food), and having an environmentally oriented career (e.g. I was the manager of a native tree and shurb nursery). I strongly support sustainable living and sustainability projects and would love to learn more about these through volunteer work experience. I enjoy working with both my hands as well as my mind and I pride myself on my strong work ethic, diverse skillset, high self-motivation and initiative to learn new things. I recently resigned from my job to fulfill a long term desire to travel the world, beginning with my beautiful home country of Canada, and eventually seeing as much of the world as possible. I look forward to applying and expanding my knowledge and skills along the way through volunteer opportunities and gaining authentic experiences with locals.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Winter sports
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Culture
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
  • More details about your skills

    Professional experience:
    *I managed a native tree and shrub nursery for many years. This involved applying horticulture related knowledge (e.g. plant physiology), performing a wide variety of hands-on tasks related to growing plants (weeding, pruning, irrigation, etc.), and many different administrative related tasks associated with running a business.
    *I worked as a evironmental restoration technician, planting native trees and shrubs.
    *I spent many years in the parks and recreation sector performing a wide variety of landscaping, grounds and building maintenance and miscellaneous physical labour and construction tasks.
    *While in these positions I regularly used many different vehicles, machinery, equipment, and power/handheld tools.

    Personal experience:
    *for many years I tended a large (5000 sq. ft. at its maximum) vegetable garden (which I created from scratch and tended by myself) as well as a small flock of chickens. I grew the plants from seed myself and I performed all of the tasks related to vegetable gardening (from planting to harvest). I was quite successful in producing most own my own food.
    *I enjoy cooking and eating a diversity of foods.
    *I spent many years landscaping my property, including installing and maintaining mulch beds, planting trees and shrubs, lawn care, and tree/brush removal.
    *I have extensive outdoor experience in rugged landscapes, such as backcountry camping, hiking, and kayaking, requiring planning and organization skills and often demanding a strong fortitude due to physically demanding topography and adverse weather conditions.
    *I am quite physically fit (being active with outdoor recreation at every possible opportunity) and have a very strong work ethic, making me capable of hard physical labour for extended periods of time.
    *I always have a DIY project on the go (landscaping, misc. construction projects, home maintenance and upgrades, etc.) and try to complete as much of my own work as possible as way of being sustainable and self-sufficient, saving money, and learning new knowledge and skills.

    Education:
    *Degree in Environmental Geography
    *Diploma in Ecosystem Restoration
    *Certificate in Environmental Conservation

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    31

  • What else ...

    When I am not engaged in outdoor activities, I enjoy visiting with friends and family, reading, and listening to music on my spare time.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Feedback