Liam

  • Belgium
  • Login to see last activity

Friends (13)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    At home

    My next destination:

    Kraków, Poland - from Feb 2022 until Feb 2022
    View all
  • Description

    Hello! My name is Liam, I'm 19 years old and I currently live in Belgium. In my childhood I lived in Belgium, in Poland and in the United States and I believe this is where my love for travelling and foreign languages/cultures began.

    At the moment I'm studying Applied Linguistics (languages: Dutch, French and English) at the KU Leuven in Brussels. In high school I mainly studied classical languages (Latin and Greek), but I also studied music (violin) for one year as an extension of my high school studies.

    During the summer of 2021 I travelled to Corfu, Greece for two months to work as a Kids Club Animator at a TUI Resort and it was such a wonderful experience. I loved the combination of travelling and caring for children. Being able to travel again after such a long time reminded me that I cannot live without travelling and meeting new people.

    In the summer of 2022 I really want to travel throughout Europe. I am a polyglot so I will be happy to learn your language - if I don't already know it ;) - and I am very open minded, positive and social. Caring for (young) children, cooking various meals and domestic chores are my best qualities and I am happy to help in any (small) household projects as well.

    I can't wait to hear from you, so I can start making new experiences and meeting new people around the world.

    *UNVACCINATED - I DO HAVE A RECOVERY CERTIFICATE UNTIL JUNE 2022*

  • Interests

    Dancing
    Languages
    Performing arts
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Animal Care

    Some knowledge of:  

    Teaching
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    My main skills can be divided into two areas: languages and music.
    Languages: teaching Dutch, English and French and how to learn foreign languages.
    Music: teaching violin, piano and basic music theory.
    Due to prior (working) experiences I am also able to work in (group) child care and (international) hospitality.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate
    Portuguese: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    I have a big passion for foreign languages and cultures. My native languages are Dutch (I live in Belgium) and English (I lived in the USA as a child). I am quite fluent in French (since I live in Belgium) and the other languages that I am confident in are Spanish and Italian. I am more or less a beginner in Portuguese and Russian and and I have dabbled in multiple languages such as Swedish, Arabic and Mandarin Chinese.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    19

  • What else ...

    I have always had a strong desire to travel and learn about other cultures. Since I was little, my family and I have travelled around the world, but we always stayed in resorts/hotels, had guides, rented cars etc., so I never got to experience the countries we went to first hand. With WORKAWAY I would like to explore the world through my own eyes and the eyes of the natives by learning new skills, foreign languages and different cultures.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Friends

Photos

Feedback

This Workwayer has not received any feedback yet.