Libby

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    12/01/2017 - 31/08/2017

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    906

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello!
    My name is Libby and I'm 19 year old from Putney, Vermont. My childhood and high school experiences, growing up on a small family farm and garden in the seasons of Vermont, shaped my values powerfully: I went to a high school up the road where I learned to work on a dairy farm, tend a production garden to feed the students and teachers, help in the kitchen, and do landscaping maintenance. This small community-based education gave me an appreciation for work ethic, mutual respect, and collaboration. While there, I also had the opportunity to learn how to create jewelry, ceramics, and fiber arts. Weaving is my passion, along with sewing, naturally dyeing, macrame, etc. I absolutely love to share these skills and get creative with making in unlikely places with challenging materials, and nothing makes me happier than cross-pollinating with other creative folks.
    I love the outdoors, whether it's nordic skiing or snowboarding in the winter, swimming and forest-bathing in the summer, or hiking anywhere any time. Connecting with nature and spirituality is a thread I'm excited to follow all over the world. I received my Permaculture Design Certificate two years ago while backpacking around Costa Rica and have since then have grown a deep passion for traveling, meeting new people, and beautifying and regenerating the world around us...
    I'm currently studying at Bennington College, where I'm able to shape my own education experience and have chosen to do so from a permaculture approach. I'm simultaneously studying environmental science and public action; community organizing; design, architecture, and construction; alternative economies and co-created placemaking philosophies; and how to use technology and socially-engaged art to complement the design of a resilient, inclusive, diverse, local, holistic community. I'm thrilled to learn and meet the wonderful folks of workaway, see the many variations on passionate projects, and contribute anything I can!
    It would be an honor to learn from new people and exchange experience, wisdom, and knowledge so that we can best co-create a sustainable global community :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    I'm a hard and dedicated worker, respectful and a quick learner.

    I've worked on numerous organic farms as a paid worker, and done a good amount of volunteering at sustainable projects at various stages of completion - I'm willing to do pretty much whatever, but especially enjoy gardening - and yes, even brush clearing and wood hauling and shoveling! I love sharing food and recipes, cooking with or for other people.

    I did my first natural building project last year in Ecuador, and loved the process! I would love to learn more about construction, but can't promise any degree of expertise.

    I also love to help with art projects and installations -- need a mosaic? A mural? Wanna cover a tree in colorful crochet? I'd also love to get some sort of loom for weaving going anywhere I go.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Spanish

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    American

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian, vegan, or super local meats, but willing to be flexible!

Profile is connected to:

KayPhils17

sbartolomei


Photos

Feedback