Lewis

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Croatia, Germany, Netherlands, Norway, Russia, Sweden

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    554

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

Watch my profile video


  • My status

    At home

  • Description

    Hello!

    Workaway is a dream come true. Traveling, working and meeting new people is what I live for. I have traveled across Europe, Canada, the U.S, and El Salvador and don't plan on slowing down! Remaining active is incredibly important to me, whether that means doing yoga, pilates, jiu-jitsu or skiing.

    After I graduated university I chose to travel as I was curious what the world had to offer. Since I began in May 2018, I have traveled through three continents, totaling 35 countries. A majority of my travel has been volunteer work. I have volunteered at six different workaways but there are two that stand out. The first was a French Chateau that I worked at for a month. I was responsible for the landscaping of the 60-acre property, cleaning the guest's rooms and cleaning all the linens. The second volunteer site was in Slovenia. I love it so much that I returned for a second month this year. I was in charge of teaching upwards of 15 volunteers with limited English ability how to construct a house. I learned countless construction skills throughout my time there. Besides building the new volunteer house, I cooked for up to fifty people each night, cleaned the entire house, worked in the potatoe fields and maintained the hiking paths for tourists.

    For two years I have been an emergency medical technician. I have responded to all sorts of medical emergencies which is a great help with childcare. In addition to my medical experience, I have worked in a government position, in the private sector at a national defense company and real estate development. Throughout my travels, I have babysat for two families for a month each. For the past eight years, I have coached kids baseball and basketball so acting as a role model to children is something I enjoy!

    I always keep an open mind towards new people, places and opportunities. Thank you for reading my profile!

    Sincerely,

    Lewis Heinlein

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Emergency medical technician, lifeguard, videographer, four years of landscaping experience, computer skills (excel, powerpoint, word), construction experience, seven years of driving experience (manual and automatic), swim teacher, baseball and basketball coach, lots of gardening experience.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner

  • Age

    24

  • Nationality

    American/British

  • What else ...

    I was born in Belgium and have both a British and an American passport!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Built a much needed staircase in Slovenia. Even made the national newspaper!
Janez and Petra, my favorite Workaway hosts from Slovenia!
Babysitting in the Swiss Alps
Stuck in the middle of two camels in Morocco!
Sunset head stand on beautiful El Cuzco Beach, El Salvador
Crossing paths in El Salvador!
Practicing splinting a colleague in car accident situations.
Floating in the Croatian Mediterranean
Keeping an eye on the beach in El Salvador
With my friend above Lake Bohinj, Slovenia
When I worked at Oktoberfest for one month!

Feedback