Leah

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/04/2021 - 29/04/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a writer and work in film and media studies! I have a deep love of philosophy and historical preservation more generally. :) Berkeley grad student who loves to read, talk history and folklore over fires, to write, and to create and participate in public knowledge production. Archival work and historical preservation is my passion, as is filming and archiving the present. I am working mainly on tape hi8 cameras at this time and mixed media. Cooking for others is my love langue and sharing meals with new and old friends is also very important to me!

    I joined workaway as I am spirited and motivated to train my skills in carpentry, landscaping, growing of plantlife. I would love to study and apprentice to learn how to work with soil, seasonal growing, and building for new environments in a sustainable way! I also love to learn from the rhythms of new places, people, and ecologies. After writing my thesis and teaching virtually this winter, I am hoping to spend more time reading, learning, and communing outdoors.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Camping
    Fitness
    Outdoor activities
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Architecture
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Writing
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Videography
    Photography
    Technology
    Cooking & food
    LGBTQ

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I am a hard worker, diligent, and steadfast outside. I have experience with landscaping, gardening, and I am a sharp auto-didact who enjoys learning how to work new land and in new climate zones.

    I have some experience with furniture assembly, carpentry, and painting and I have a desire to learn more in these fields as well as others that pertain to ecological design, sustainability, and plant life ecologies!

    Lastly, I am a great cook, kind, and a smart hand in the kitchen. I enjoy animals and overall, I approach work with a deep curiosity.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    Arabic: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    While I would like to work specifically in outdoor ecological projects involving the outdoors more generally, I have the desire to continue language study both of local dialects/creole as well as my own language studies in Arabic, Spanish, and French if and when circumstance and timing is concerned. I would also love to learn about local cooking, music, and history and have the desire to explore local libraries and archives.

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I am currently shooting a road movie as I drive West from the East Coast and I will be bringing my collection of Hi8 tape cameras and hope to make this exodus a visual story as well!

    I love listening to music, picking edible plant life on walks, reading media theory and philosophy, and community organizing and mutual aidwork.

    I have a banjo that I am also hoping to learn how to play in a more meaningful way!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback