Lena

From: France

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/09/2016 - 01/01/2021

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi everyone, I'll try to introduce myself quickly (this description is becoming longer every year haha)

    I started traveling when I was 17, I went to Vietnam for 3 months, volunteered with 40 kids in an amazing foster home. My mission was to make the children happy, how could you dream of a better goal ? Organizing activities, playing games, helping in the kitchen, with homework, cleaning, tutoring english and french classes ...
    It was the first time I realized I wanted my life to be full of cultural discoveries, different experiences, meeting incredible people with all kind of backgrounds and stories to share.

    Came back to France, finished my bachelor degree in business and kept dreaming about the moment I would be on the road again. I had many different jobs (marketing assistant, furniture saler, pizza maker, baby sitter ...) with the only aim : save enough money to quit everything and go traveling again !

    And guess what... I finally did ! September 7th, 2016 I took a one way ticket to Vietnam and spent 2 months in the same foster home I volunteered 2 and a half years ago. It was the beginning of 15 months on the road. From Vietnam, to Sri Lanka where I volunteered in a hostel, to Laos where I helped in a permaculture farm and rice fields for 2 weeks, to several Asian countries, then I flew to Moscow and continued my trip in Europe. Volunteered for a month in Lithuania, on an amazing camp site where I took part of a festival organization.

    It was 15 unbelievable months ! Met hundreds of persons from more than 70 countries, get to learn few words in so many languages, got the chance to use couchsurfing, to hitch hike, discovered landscapes, food, cultures, ...
    And it was totally impossible for me to settle back in a routine in France after that trip, that's when I moved to Budapest ! Started working in a customer support center, my colleagues are from all nationalities, I get to work in french and english in the tourism industry. Great experience.

    After 1 year in Budapest, a city that I fully fell in love with, it was time to start moving again !

    So I quit and took a one way ticket to Morocco, ready to hit the road !
    I volunteered in a surf camp for over 2 months, working in the smoothie bar, making breakfast for the guest, cooking (vegan food), cleaning, serving in the restaurant... All of this facing the ocean and the perfect wave-lines, truly amazing experience !! I absolutely loved it and then travelled for 2 other months (hitchhiking and couchsurfing) in Morocco.

    2020 arrived and I picked a new destination : India :D
    I volunteered there in a travel agency for 2 weeks, helped with online visibility, translated docs from EN to FR, giving advices on how to improve the experiences offered to the guest, giving reviews and much more... It was a very interesting workaway!

    Unfortunately, Covid arrived and I decided to be locked down in an eco-farm in the Himalayan Mountains for a month. There, I was helping with the turmeric process, daily farm-tasks, taking care of goats and chickens, weeding, watering... But the best part was that I was able to practice yoga and meditation everyday, discovered the sound healing therapy and got to learn a lot about myself.

    I had to find a new project and decided to walk. I did 1800km to Santiago! It was a truly amazing experience to walk on the Camino.

    November 2020, I made it to Portugal and I'm now looking for a nice environment, surrounded by beautiful souls to spend the winter with.

    If you have any questions, feel free to ask, I also have a blog (in French only, sorry) about all the destinations I've been to and the things I had the chance to experience at my young age. If you want to check it out, here is the link : http://www.tranel-blog.com/


    Why you should meet me ?

    I'm always positive and smiling, I can share tons of stories and love to hear other's persons experiences too. I'm determined and really curious. I love to cook and adore to eat ! I'm definitely not a lazy person and I'm pretty much easy going, always down to do something new ! :)

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    So I have various skills from my previous jobs / volunteering but I'm mostly a quick learner and always curious about things I don't know much about.

    I studied business and I worked 1 year for an organic food company in the marketing department. So I can try to help you with communication, promotion, stats, ... I also have a blog so I have some knowledge about website management and can help with social medias and getting reviews from customers.

    I worked for 1 year in a customer support center for an online travel agency, so I know how to handle customers and how to give them satisfaction. I learnt to be patient and I can give many tips as a traveller myself :)

    If there is anything you'd like to ask me that I forgot to mention, just tell me, I'll be glad to answer.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback