Emma

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    No countries selected

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    **New to Workaway but I have used WWOOF/word-of-mouth for past work-trades; experience in "Skills"**

    Hi! My name is Emma but I go by Lemon.

    Since I left NYC at the start of the pandemic, I've been work-trading up from San Diego to the Sierras in California: learning a lot about living in community, observing "permaculture" practices, and growing food for both CSA shares and homesteads. I recently bought and built out my baby Prius, so I'm happy to branch out a little further (anywhere in the west from Oregon to New Mexico) and stay a little longer for a good fit!

    Service, sustainability, and structure are my focus moving into 2021.

    Other things that get me amped: an ecosystem mindset, intersectional sustainability, growth of both plants and people, on and off the "clock." Projects filled with humility, flexibility, and humor that result in tangible outcomes. Would love love love support in my mindfulness journey (including perhaps ritual/ceremony), as well as guidance on foraging and/or apothecary.

    :) & music always

  • Interests

    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Writing
    Music
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Animal Care
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work

    Able to teach about:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Most important skill is my HIGH VIBES... manifesting in my plant-based family cooking, endless energy for jam-banding/karaoke-partying, priority on empathy/listening, and full-send investment into the MOMENT, whatever and wherever it is.

    AG-RELATED: Experience handling and mucking after livestock, horses, and poultry; collecting seeds, weeding, pruning, flipping rows, transplanting, generating/maintaining compost; constructing beds, walkways, and compost bins, moving heavy objects and small trees/bushes; preservation of seeds and produce; chopping wood and constructing furniture; cobbing/natural building; harvesting, curing, trimming, and processing flower.

    "PROFESSIONAL": Teaching + writing curriculum; political fundraising; phone-banking; promotional/brand content creation; intern recruitment; journalistic reporting and writing. (Can speak more to these and/or send resume if interested.)

    OUTDOORS: Backpacking, car-camping, fire cooking.

    MISC: I have fermented kombucha and wine, preserved pickles, sprouted beans, and grown mushrooms. I was baking bread before it got trendy. I sing and play guitar. New to but excited about macrame/natural jewelry-making, up-cycling fabrics, felting wool, and tanning [road-killed] hides.

    Always seeking more/new experience :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    This workawayer has indicated that they would be interested in sharing their language(s) or learning a new language. You can contact them directly to discuss this.

  • Age

    21

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      plant-based, happy to cook for myself (and others)

Photos

Feedback