Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/09/2018 - 03/01/2021

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    441

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello - my name is Laura and I am currently living and working in the UK. I am interested in helping in Europe as I want to experience real continental culture in line with my own interests such as history, nature, a glass of wine and meeting new people. I think working away is a rewarding way of exploring my love of travel (I would love to share stories!). I am looking to arrange somewhere quite far in advance and for 2 weeks at a time as I am not travelling and need to book time off work - I would like to come and help perhaps once a year when I can have some time off of work to do something valuable, rewarding and educational - and of course, enjoyable.

    I work in an environmental capacity and am learning more about this every day so working outside and being with nature is very important to me. I would look forward to sharing the highlights of your local area whilst I work with you. I also have a great appreciation for history and would love to learn about this in your local area.

    For me, I would like to emphasise the importance of interacting with and spending time getting to know my hosts. Only being available for 2 weeks, the ability to really connect with people is a big part of why I would like to come away. I would be excited to share in your life and understand your local area through your eyes.

    Please get in touch with any other questions or if you would just like to get to know me a bit better before arranging to work away.

    I look forward to meeting you soon!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have helped before using WWOOF when I travelled in New Zealand. I helped with pruning, weeding, cooking, cleaning, wood chipping, painting and fruit picking. I have worked in the customer service sector so would be happy working in a B&B or hostel and interacting with guests. I do not have any particular practical skills other than my previous experience - I am keen to help someone who is as happy to teach as I am happy to learn.

  • Languages spoken

    French: Beginner

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I am really keen to learn French so would be grateful if I could have this opportunity when I stay.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Successfully learned to plait garlic!
Pruning olive trees.
Using a quad bike to tow felled logs up a hill.
Harvesting tuatuas on the Kapiti coast in New Zealand.

Feedback