Lynda

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Guatemala, Nicaragua, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    11/08/2017 - 13/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1033

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Hello! I'm Lynda from Toronto, Ontario, Canada. I am certified yoga teacher who specializes in Vinyasa, Yin, Partner and Kids yoga. I spent a year in Thailand on spiritual journey for self-development where I obtained my yoga certification and worked as as a digital nomad. I returned to Canada to utilize my worldly skills and apply these gifts among my community. My solo travel journey began March 2015 when I worked as an English teacher in South Korea for 2 years. I left Canada to immerse myself in another culture. For the past 4 years I've been living, volunteering and eating in a new world outside of my comfort zone. Living abroad has led me to explore other countries around the world which I am truly grateful for.

    This experience has helped me grow in many ways. I gained independence living on my own in a foreign environment and through solo traveling. By cultivating self-love from within, being open minded, and adaptable, I've witnessed this reflected outside of me on my journey. Your vibe attracts your tribe as they say! Embracing cultural differences with kindness and patience has allowed me to create genuine relationships. This is why I joined Workaway because it enables me to extend this experience to more parts of the world through volunteering and travel.


    VOLUNTEER/WORK EXPERIENCE & PREFERENCE:
    I am most passionate about work that involves yoga, hospitality, animals, farming and/or children.


    YOGA TEACHER
    I am 200 hours certified yoga teacher. I have experience teaching private one-on-one, small, and large groups. I taught various styles of yoga at festivals, yoga studios, in the park, on a farm and inside of homes from Thailand to South Korea. I helped to maintain Mitra Yoga studio for 2 years as an Energy exchange volunteer where my role was doing administrative work, hosting, keeping the studio organized and clean. I have practiced yoga for 10 years. I am very passionate about it because the philosophy has become an intergal part of my life.


    ENGLISH TEACHER
    As a native English speaker with a degree in Drama Studies, I taught full time at an all-boys middle school in the countryside town of Goseong and in my spare time I volunteered at the Boys Town orphanage in Busan . I worked at an international school in Costa Rica with preschool aged children which prepared me for the language centre that I taught at in Thailand where I worked with children between the age of 4-12. I teach English online as I travel which has been an ongoing way for me to improve my skills and stay connected with the ESL learners community.


    HOSPITALITY
    I've worked in customer service for 8 years from the age of 16-24. Through Workaway, I experienced working at hostels in Malaysia and Costa Rica. I was responsible for reception, socializing with customers and cleaning. I was a sales advisor at H&M loyal to the international company for 6 years. I was responsible for sales, maintenance and customer assistance. Following that I worked for the Bureau of Broadcast Measurement for 3 months where my role was a market researcher. I had to conduct interviews over the phone. Before leaving to teach in Korea, I worked at Fido as a customer service representative. It was a nice challenge to work in the telecommunications industry because it was essential to be knowledgeable on the latest mobile technology.

    ANIMAL CARE
    I got to fulfill my passion for caring for animals by volunteering at the Busan Abandoned Pet Sanctuary in Gimhae. I also volunteered at SPCA (Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals) in Penang, Malaysia. I was responsible for walking and socializing with the dogs.


    FARM WORK
    I worked on hydroponic strawberry farm in South Korea in 2018 when I returned for a visit. It was an enriching experience to learn about planting and maintaining the plants during my stay. I am very curious to learn more. It was a meditative experience being more connected to nature. I am strongly inclined to stay maintain this grounded sense during my travels.


    THEATRE
    As a Drama Studies major with a bilingual BA, performing arts has been apart of my life since grade 8. I'm very passionate about the arts and I love sharing my talents in creative ways. I was able to express my creativity by acting in 2 theatre productions for Changwon Community Theatre. I played the lead acting role in a comedy called the Love List and a secondary role in Waygook in Wonderland. I love being actively involved in the arts whether it be performing, music, visual, culinary etc..

    One of my greatest passions is trying new things. My life motto is "life is what you make it". My life is driven ceizing the moment and following my dreams. I really look forward to the opportunity to volunteer around the world in the future sharing my passions with people of different cultures.

  • Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Yoga
    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Providing childcare
    Grocery shopping and other household tasks
    Teaching English
    Providing animal care
    Social media marketing
    Administrative
    Computer skills
    Customer service
    Leadership
    Teamwork
    Verbal/written communication

  • Languages spoken

    English-fluent, French-intermidate, Korean-basic survival

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Canada

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      lobsters and shrimp

    • Special dietary requirements
      vegetarian / vegan

Photos

Cooking is one of my favourite hobbies. I'm grateful I could share this with my students at Winter Camp
Hosting Summer Camp at my All Boys Middle School
Meditation at sunrise on Koh Samui, Thailand
Embracing Korean culture at Gyeongbokgung Palace, South Korea
Puppy Love
Kayaking on Geoje Island, South Korea
Trying on kimonos in Okinawa, Japan with my friend Ayumi
High vibrations after teaching Partner Yoga
Cultural exchange around the dinner table
Dog walking at the farm best combination
Leading a dynamic kids yoga practice at the farm
Feeling royal in hanboks in front of the palace

Feedback