Laura

From: Belgium

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    15/10/2018 - 31/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there!
    I'm Laura, I'm 19 years old and I'm from Antwerp, Belgium. After my first year of studying sculpture I've decided to take a gap year. I'm looking to connect with new people and explore some new skills.
    I'm an artist at heart and love everything that has to do with creating: drawing, sculpting, building, cooking, etc...
    I'm very interested in construction and I'd love to learn more about it! I would love to be able to make sculptures and constructions for other people, and to help my mom renovate our basement so she can have an art studio at home. Therefor it would be great to be able to learn more about that this year. I'm looking to learn more about carpentry, masonry, gardening, and general construction. I now have some experience with masonry, a bit of woodworking and gardening. I'm also interested in learning about permaculture and sustainable living. If you need a helping hand and are willing to teach me your craft I would be absolutely happy to help you out in any way I can.

    Aside from exploring my manual skills the most important thing I'd like to get out of workaway is connecting with new people and communities. Sharing stories and ideas is very important to me, and I would love to experience the world in a new way by joining others in their way of living.

    As for work experience I've spent a couple of months working at a cafe and a museum and also volunteered for 2 years with an organisation that does art projects for young adults. I spent 2 months in Germany doing house maintenance, painting walls and working in the garden. After that I spent a month doing construction in a 13th century castle in France.
    Other than that I can offer you computer/social media help, I can teach you how to draw or paint, and I can offer you my hard work and dedication.
    I promise to embrace every kind of work with enthusiasm and to the best of my ability!
    Hope to see you soon!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Cooking and baking
    Experience in the service industry: house prep, cleaning and waitressing
    Computer skills: help with social media and photoshop
    Art: drawing, painting and a bit of pottery

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch is my native language, I also speak English fluently and am looking to improve my very basic knowledge of French.

  • Age

    20

  • Nationality

    Belgian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback