From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Portugal, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/09/2018 - 28/02/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello everyone, my name is Laura. I'm from the United States, cuurentand I'll be traveling for 6 in my work life as a clinical social worker and a special educator, I work with children with special needs. As a child development specialist at a nursery school for children 2-5, I work with teachers, children and parents. I've worked with children in some capacity, as a classroom teacher, camp counselor, cooking teacher, swim instructor or babysitter for over 15 years.
    I've called Brooklyn, New York home for the past 15 years, and have been fortunate to have such a vibrant city as a home base. From here I've enjoyed the opportunity to travel and experience the world. I am a life-long learner and love learning from other people and other experiences. I'm adaptable and eager to jump in, so I'm looking forward to the many opportunities that lie ahead.

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Outside of work, I'm a gardener, and have been a member of a community garden in Brooklyn, New York for a few years. I've worked with others on a large group vegetable plot, and have taken care of weed removal, natural pest reduction techniques and overall maintenance of the plants. I've also had my own plot, so have gotten to plan out the space, and have the joy of harvesting when ready.

    I'm an eager learner and have taken a range of classes including stained glass work, bicycle mechanics, and woodworking. After a few furniture reupholstering classes, I've redone a few chairs and I'm always up for home improvement work, like painting, sanding, regrouting, caulking, spackling and reconfiguring. I've been on a few Habitat for Humanity building trips, and love seeing the results of our hard work. I've done some siding installation, insulation and sheet rock work on those trips. I recently had the kitchen redone in my home and as someone who loves to cook, am thrilled by the way it turned out. As a member of my local food co-op, I'm a cashier and am always up for trying out the seasonal produce that comes in. I love cooking and am often trying out new recipes and going back to former favorites. Kombucha is something I've learned how to brew and it's good to have a batch going. I'm a former lifeguard, former swim instructor, current scuba diver and beginner surfer. Being near water is good for my soul!

    I'm a very organized person and have put together gatherings for a variety of occasions, and have helped a friend when she first opened her wine shop, so I have a little retail experience.

    As a life-long learner, I'm eager to acquire any new skills and work collaboratively with others. I've been in New York City for the past 15 years and love the diverse community that calls New York home. I am eager to explore a new place and get to know a new community. There is nothing like the community that is created while traveling so I really look forward to it!

  • Languages spoken

    English, some French

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      I'm allergic to cats

    • Special dietary requirements



Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more