Laura

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Philippines, Saint-Barthélemy, Thailand, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/02/2015 - 26/09/2016

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    Hello, I'm Laura from England. I've been taking part in workaway projects around Europe for the past five years, and this year ventured out of the continent for the first time to see some pretty incredible places east of here, with my lovely friend Mary-Rose.

    I studied architecture in Nottingham not so long ago, but aside from creating pretty drawings I'm a big fan of getting dirt under my fingernails and sawdust in my hair, and generally making nice things with my own two hands.

    Before and inbetween studying I've filled up any free time with workaway projects, wwoofing, staying in a lot of wonderful communities and generally exploring as much as possible. I spent over a year living and working in France, attempting to pick up some of the language along the way but mostly just trying different things and gaining some new skills. I'm very interested in buildings and restoration, and am always trying to learn more about permaculture and eco-construction in particular. I love art, literature, history, culture, cuisine - anything and everything really! I am bright and eager to learn, and meet new people, and to discover different ways of life =)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other

  • What skills do you have?

    I’m particularly interested in building and creating things. I studied architecture but since graduating have spent a lot of time working on construction projects, and especially love working with wood. I also have some experience slating roofs; building stone walls; earth building with cob, mud bricks, rammed earth and wattle and daub; lime plastering and limewashing; a bit of thatching and other bits and pieces. Willing to give anything a go really!

    And I have plenty of basic experience with organic and permaculture gardening, painting and decorating, can cook, and having spent a lot of time working in restaurants and cafes, have experience with customers and the hospitality industry. I have previously volunteered on farms, quite a few building and restoration projects, and in a couple of guest houses. I'm a practical person and can generally do most things that i put my mind to, and I have decent academic skills, am a fast learner, not afraid of getting my hands dirty, and always willing to try new things and give whatever I do my best shot!

  • Languages spoken

    English, stumbling French

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    British

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      no

    • Special dietary requirements
      no

Photos

Feedback