Eric

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    23/06/2019 - 04/09/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I'm traveling the continental US by bicycle, or other means if I need to adapt to the circumstances.

    To be honest, I don't really have any specific goals for my travels, which may seem rather unambitious and show little conviction, but it allows me flexibility and independence in my schedule or agenda. Rather, I let my experiences and the people I meet determine the course of my travels.

    I'm also frugal, minimalistic, and reclusive to social media, so I don't have facebook or anything of the sort. As inconvenient as this may be in this day and age, I do my best to make up any shortcomings this may cause. In fact, one of two of my uncompromising principles is being responsible and keeping my circumstances and personal affairs from troubling others. The other is being respectful by expressing no unwarranted major judgements of others' beliefs and attitudes unless necessary, always considering others' perspectives and viewpoints for whatever I disagree with or don't understand, and acting courteous and polite.

    After reading that paragraph above, I realized it probably gives the impression I'm pretty serious and stern. I have an easygoing attitude and enjoy talking about a lot of things, especially obscure or unconventional topics people generally don't consider.

    I put forth a lot of effort into first encounters to gain trust and credibility from others, but look forward to getting to know them and hear what stories they have to tell.

    P.S. - I do have a profile on warmshowers (at "https://www.warmshowers.org/user/75153"), a site that allows touring cyclists to get in contact with fellow cyclists that host them during their travels, similar to couch surfing, but with a more specific purpose. I've also joined WWOOF (World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms) before, which offers people interested in organic farming a chance to participate and stay at one, similar to Workaway.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Professional Skills/Experience:
    - Housekeeping/janitorial
    - Reception
    - Managing
    - Cashier
    - Accounting
    - Tutoring
    - Demolition
    - Carnival Kettle Corn Production

    Other Skills:
    - Music experience in theory, guitar, and flute
    - Bicycle maintenance
    - Sheep herding (by portable electric fence)
    - Lifeguarding (No longer certified)
    - Cooking
    - Baking bread
    - Camping
    - Gardening

    Not only am I open to learning new skills and immersing myself in unfamiliar environments, but I look forward to those opportunities and make sure to use my best judgement, reasonable thinking, optimistic attitude, initiative, and determination.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    The gist of it is that I am a traveler that is open to most new experiences and people, and don't let myself be tied down by plans/schedule or anything else that may hold me back. I put forth my best effort in anything I pursue, and consider responsibility and respect my guiding principles.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback

Give the gift of Workaway
read more

Find your perfect host