Lane

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (1)

Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    Travelling


    Currently exploring France by bicycle. Looking to work with horses in the countryside of Scotland this winter.

  • Description

    I’ve been traveling by motorcycle for the past 2 years from New Mexico to Ecuador working and volunteering all along the way. I’ve helped build trails in a eco lodge in Costa Rica, helped build a cabin at a glamping spot in Baja Mexico, assisted with horse tours in Colombia, and brought groups to waterfall hikes in Ecuador all the while exploring the areas I stay and connecting with all kinds of wonderful people throughout the journey. I just finished the summer season working as a hiking guide and packer (leading a string of miles on horseback for mountain trips) at Rock Creek Pack Station in the Sierra nevadas of California in and around Yosemite National Park. I’m looking now for a stay working with and riding horses.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Plant care
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening

    Some knowledge of:  

    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Just finished a summer season working as a hiking and horse riding guide through the Sierra Nevada mountains in California. It was an incredible experience working closely with over 200 horses and mules going on trips with guests from all over the world. I was lucky enough to be the hiking guide on a 30 day trip with 15 guests 14 horses and mules and over 300 miles through pristine backcountry wild. A typical day on a trip I would wrangle our grazing animals at 4:30 am then cook breakfast for our guests pack all the mules with our kitchen, camp and luggage ride all day to a new camp and set up for the evening. Worked as a outdoor guide at the University of New Mexico bringing groups on backpacking trips, snowshoeing and rock climbing I have worked with animals as a pet sitter and farmhand. One memorable job I was paid to travel to the French Alps to housesit and dogsit for 2 months.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    More details about my language interests
    improving Spanish and French teaching English

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    37

  • What else ...

    i love all kinds of outdoor exploration and staying active

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback

Friends

Photos

Competition photos

Feedback