Kira

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/01/2017 - 30/04/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Oh man, I've never been very good at describing myself. I'm a very talkative and outgoing person. Always on the go. Sometimes I'm not sure if I live for those busy times or the moments in between where I can catch my breath. I am constantly reading, and I love sharing and swapping a good book. I love staying active whether its going on a bike ride, taking/teaching a dance workshop, or exploring the nooks and crannies of whatever city I happen to be in.
    I graduated college several years ago with a degree in microbiology/immunology and since then life has taken me down a path full of amazing and yet unexpected experiences. I worked several years with adults with developmental disabilities and then as a fitness coach helping women get and stay in shape at a health club. I've discovered a more energy-inclined way of living and am always looking to exchange new ideas on the subject.
    I've been a dancer for almost my entire life, starting with tap, jazz, and Hawaiian hula. Since then, I've expanded to capoeira, contact improvisation, and authentic movement to name just a few. I've performed professionally and held workshops for several different styles of movement in both the US and Thailand.
    During my travels, I have become a PADI Dive Master and I LOVE IT! I've logged over 100 dives around SE Asia, Australia, and Okinawa. I've also worked in local dive shops with managing the shop and booking fun dives, courses, and DSDs.
    I left the United States about 5 years ago and am continuing to explore the world outside my own little garden. I love meeting new people and immersing myself in different cultures. I'm up for just about anything and have never had a problem taking the initiative in getting a project done.
    I have spent the last 2.5 years as an English teacher at an international kindergarten in Japan. Prior to then I have worked/volunteered in various fields. In Thailand I worked as the Events Manager at a Tantric/yoga school for several months. My duties included booking new events and workshops and marketing. I also tended bar at a resort during the high season with an international clientele. In Indonesia I took care of animals, helped with maintenance at a hostel, and taught English to children/young adults. I have also helped at a dive shop with keeping it clean and training incoming volunteers.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Working knowledge of MS Microsoft, MS Powerpoint, Excel, and Photoshop
    10+ years experience babysitting and nanny for children and infants
    2+ years experience teaching English (primarily children)
    Experience as a dance and movement instructor (contact improvisation, Hawaiian, tap, jazz)
    PADI Dive Master
    EFR certificate (CPR for adults and children, 1st and Secondary Care)

  • Languages spoken

    English (expert), Spanish (conversational), American Sign Language (conversational)

  • Age

    33

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I'm currently in Hawaii until August with a host and will be heading to the Mainland in August. We'll see where I end up from there!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback