Kyiel & Dimity

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Greece, Israel, Japan, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, New Zealand, South Africa, Spain, Turkmenistan, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/06/2019 - 01/09/2021

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi, we’re Dimity and Kyiel, 21 and 25 respectively. We have both used workaway independently, but we met while volunteering at a hostel, and decided to join forces. Here is a little bit about ourselves.
    Hi again! Dimity here. I’m from a small town in Connecticut, but moved to California about 3 years ago when I got the opportunity to work as a ski instructor in Lake Tahoe. I’ve spent the last 3 winters teaching kids how to ski, and have done my best to travel as much as possible in the off season.
    A few things about me: I’m a positive, social person, so I tend to work/play well with others, I grew up playing sports and have stayed active since, and I try to stay current on world events/politics. I would describe myself as independent, hard working, and adapt to new surroundings easily. I’m a big fan of skiing, hiking, camping, dogs, food, reading, writing, and photography.
    I’ve done a variety of different jobs; I’ve been a summer camp counselor, a barista, a waitress, hostel receptionist, house cleaner, and a ski teacher, to name a few.
    I have a valid US drivers license with a clean record, and I am PSIA (Professional Ski Instructors of America) certified. I was also the interim assistant manager at the last hostel we worked at, so I have basic managerial experience.
    Kyiel here. I’m excited to be back on workaway after a brief hiatus. I’ve found volunteering on workaway to be my favorite way to travel and have been able to make good use of it. I have worked at 4 hostels, both as a receptionist and house cleaner, at several bed and breakfasts, constructions sites and farms. Before traveling, I was working in the construction industry, mainly as a fire sprinkler fitter, but I also have experience in several other fields, including tile setting, painting, road paving and more. I am a history nerd at heart and love learning about local pasts. The two of us are avid readers (I particularly enjoy westerns) and have squishy, sponge-like brains that we try to use to soak up as much knowledge as much as we can. I enjoy learning new skills and different ways of life.
    We look forward to hearing from you and can’t wait to get know you.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Kyiel: construction; specifically plumbing and painting, some automotive, limited cooking but eager to learn more, OSHA certified, tour guide.
    Dimity: I am POS trained (imonggo, procharge, loventis), I have experience teaching (particularly with children), I can cook, photography/videography experience, and I have strong organizational skills.
    We both have experience in housekeeping and reception, yard work, we both enjoy cooking, and are quick, hands on learners.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Some Spanish

  • Age

    26 & 21

  • Nationality

    USA

  • What else ...

    We do our best to be environmentally conscious, in whatever little ways we can.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Dimity is Pescatarian

Photos

Feedback