Katie & Elijah

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I love traveling and getting to know other places and cultures. I lived in Uganda for 3.5 years and would host Couchsurfing guests at my home. My favorite way to get to know people is by sharing a good meal and swapping travel stories and music/book/movie recommendations.

    I'm a pretty industrious and organized person who finds joy in doing things with care. I have never participated in Workaway, but would love to use it to see some beautiful spots, have more of a local experience, and hopefully work on some cool projects with interesting people.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Being an elderly companion
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Katie:
    + Plenty of experience with manual labor. Not afraid of getting my hands dirty in the garden or elsewhere.
    + Experience with writing and editing.
    + Good with data and computers.
    + Good with children :)

    Elijah:
    + Professional video editor and videographer
    + Experienced artist who enjoys designing and painting murals.
    + Good with children and has experience working at summer camps for both wilderness activities and for a film class.
    + 1.5 years experience working as an English as a Second Language (ESL) teacher in Uganda.
    + Passionate about web design and technology

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Luo: Intermediate
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    More details about my language interests
    We have a lot of interest in learning more Croatian and are happy to share or teach our English skills. We are both native speakers, and Elijah has experience as an ESL teacher. In addition, Katie is currently in a year long program in which she is learning Chinese Mandarin and wants to continue learning.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    27 & 27

  • What else ...

    Elijah likes to draw, and Katie really likes cats. We both like rock climbing, hiking in nature, and cooking.

    We are also big fans of the board games Settlers of Catan and Dutch Blitz. We hope you have one of these, because we forgot to pack both! But we like learning new games too.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Penicillin

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Feedback