Ciara

From: Ireland

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Guatemala, Mexico, Nicaragua, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/01/2018 - 31/08/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    525

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    I guess you could say I'm a friendly, easy-going kind of person. I think I've always been a traveller but my first experience living in another country (Belgium in 2010, ERASMUS study abroad programme) had a huge impression on me and I've really wanted to explore the world since then.

    I have a Bachelor of Arts degree in Irish Studies, which focuses on the many different aspects of Irish culture, along with English literature and the Irish language (Gaeilge) as my main subjects. My time in Belgium influenced my decision to study abroad and I've recently completed an MA in Arts and Heritage in Maastricht, Netherlands. At the moment I am living in Bonn, Germany, where I'm enjoying some time off after submitting my thesis!

    As I've been busy with studies, I haven't been travelling in a while and I really miss it! I love new adventures, learning about different cultures, learning words from different languages... (or perhaps learning more than just a few words). I'm interested in history, and would love to participate in a cultural/historic project while travelling.

    I grew up in the countryside, and although I do enjoy city life, I sometimes miss the feeling of space, the pure fresh air, and the peacefulness of being in nature. Hill walking/hiking in the wilderness or being by the sea makes me very happy! I am a quiet person, however I am sociable and love meeting new people. I also like to read a lot and play music from time to time - I play Irish traditional music on the flute. I haven't been playing for a while now but have found an Irish music session in Bonn so I'm hoping to get back into it. I like being around animals in general, especially cats.

    I have had some really positive experiences with Workaway projects before and my family hosts workaways in Ireland, so I've experienced workaway from both perspectives. I feel I have a lot to contribute and learn from volunteering, as well as having some time at the moment - which is why I've re-activated my account. I'm fairly open-minded and I'm looking forward to having lots of new experiences and adventures this year!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I used to work as a tour guide in a museum/art gallery, so I have good communication skills and I'm used to public speaking. This job has given me much experience in meeting and welcoming tourists from around the world.

    I love spending time with children. I take care of a few children on a regular basis (ages 2-6), teaching them English through games, reading, and other activities.

    I also have a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) certificate and would like to put what I've learned into use through teaching English to children and/or adults.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Gaeilge

  • Age

    29

  • Nationality

    Ireland

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I eat fish but not meat

Photos

Feedback