Kirsty & Josh

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Italy, Portugal, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/07/2017 - 31/01/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Our status

    Travelling

  • Description

    2019 /2020 onwards - life changes ... Josh now currently lives in Panama where he is doing amazing fishing things and vegetable growing systems (and he may well be looking for workaway help in the near future). Meanwhile, Kirsty, Esmé (10) and Sasha (8) are now based in the UK, but travelling as much as possible (sometimes to Panama but mostly to Europe). We have just got ourselves a camper van so have our own accommodation and are able to enjoy adventures that might not be open to us otherwise! Kirsty is finishing her degree in Speech and Language Therapy and can help with any childcare, hospitality, language learning type of things and the girls are both pretty handy - with supervision! (Esmé loves looking after younger kids and she's a wonderful baker; Sasha loves construction work and animal care)


    2017: We are a British-American family currently living in the Colorado Rocky Mountains where we own and operate an all-natural, outdoor pig farm. Josh is a modern permaculturally-leaning old school cowboy - a whizz with plants and animals. Kirsty is a speech language pathology assistant and children's librarian, who dabbles in writing for pleasure. We have two beautiful girls Esmé (7.5) and Sasha (5). We have hosted a dozen workaways ourselves over the last year and have loved the experience and gained so much from it. Now it is time for us to try the experience from the other perspective. We are busy handing our farm over to friends and relocating to the UK. En route to the UK we want to experience as much of Europe as possible. Josh is an incredibly capable man (having previously been in the building trade - he can fix anything!), gardening is a mad passion for him and he has a wonderful way with animals (especially big ones!). Kirsty has previously lived in France and can help with most things big or small, but, traveling as a family, can perhaps be of most use offering childcare or language learning (she previously worked teaching English as a Foreign Language). Esmé and Sasha love dog walks, snuggling with cats and feeding chickens and generally making themselves as useful as possible. We all love to dabble in the kitchen and we all love books and beaches.

  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Josh - agriculture, husbandry, gardening (biodynamics and permaculture); building (carpentry, plumbing, tiling, electrics)
    Kirsty - language teaching, childcare, elderly care, cooking, shopping etc.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Age

    45 & 47

  • Nationality

    British / American

  • What else ...

    Having previously been workaway hosts ourselves we are very excited to have the opportunity to experience being workaways. We are very respectful of peoples' ways, spaces and projects and will be very grateful to be as much help as possible to those willing to host a family!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Kirsty is currently vegetarian

Photos

Feedback