Kiara

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    New Zealand

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/12/2019 - 31/08/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    I'm a recent college graduate taking some time to explore the world before pursuing my passions for biochemistry through higher education. I love being outside, connecting with people, and exploring new places, people, things and ways of living.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in: 

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Life at a Farmstay
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of: 

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals

    Able to teach about: 

    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    I have experience working in hospitality and gardening/ farming. I am fit, fast-learning, hard-working and easy-going. I'm also an extrovert who loves working with/for people and am comfortable thinking on my feet.

    A bit more about my skills: I have years of experience waitressing and housekeeping, as well as some experience helping with grounds/maintenance. I can plaster, sand, paint, garden, and do some basic construction. Having worked years in hospitality and for a year in sales/account management, I am well-versed in customer service and communication. I’ve also many teaching positions in University and abroad. In NZ, I’ve worked on a few farms, gardening, fencing, irrigating, etc, and more recently, I worked at Mt. Hutt ski field in Food and Beverage. I have some basic medical skills from years of medical volunteer work. Lastly, I am well versed in chemistry and biology lab procedures and analytical techniques, but that’s not likely relevant!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    22

  • What else ...

    I live a very people-centered life and enjoy living, working, and playing with others. I love being challenged, playful competition and intellectual discussion. I am formally trained as a biochemist, have years of nanomedical research experience and have a passion for all things outdoor or science related. Nature tends to be my inspiration and my therapy. I especially enjoy tramping and skiing, though I have recently tried rafting and begun rock climbing. Want to go adventure? Let's do it! I also dabble in the arts, including song, dance, drawing, painting, glass etching, wood burning and metal engraving. I love trying new things, being put in new situations and learning new skills, especially in good company!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback