Khushnuma

From: United Arab Emirates

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Chile, Colombia, Peru

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/05/2019 - 05/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi! I am originally from India, but been moving around quite a bit through the course of life. I spent most of my adult life in the US, studying and then working as a Chemical Engineer. Recently, I decided to take a break from the corporate job and focus on my passion for traveling, volunteering for different conservation efforts, learning new skills, and experiencing different cultures. I've always wanted to travel with a purpose rather than as a tourist checking off different spots and then forgetting them when vacation time is over and you're back to the grind. I am excited to spend this year (or maybe 2), exchanging skills and experiences with the world!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Strong interpersonal skills - I love chatting with new people and other travelers, or providing them information, conducting tour guides etc.

    Love adventure activities! Although I've never assisted in any, I'd be happy to be trained and assist in any activity for tourists (e.g. equipment preparing, maintenance, guiding tourists etc.) I am also an avid scuba diver (rescue diver certified), and can assist in being a shore marshal/ boat marshal etc.

    Computer assistance: MS Excel, Powerpoint etc. Basic coding.

    Certified bartender - I completed a course in New York, but I haven't been able to get some hands on experience yet and would love the opportunity!

    Interested in practicing yoga/ acroyoga/ aerial training. I have practiced aerial for 3 years now and would love the opportunity to train. I can help in rigging equipment, administrative duties etc.

    Languages: Fluent in English, Hindi, Gujarati.

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent in Hindi, English, and Gujarati. Would love to learn Spanish!

  • Age

    35

  • What else ...

    I have a strong interest in learning organic farming, especially cocoa and coffee farming and would love the opportunity to learn.

    I recently completed a marine expedition with Blue Ventures in Madagascar and it was an unbelievable experience! Feel free to ask me more or share a similar experience as I would love to do more of these kind of projects :)

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegetarian (not strict)

Feedback