Kevin & Laura

  • United States
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Super Workawayer

Friends (1)

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently


    Our next destination:

    Scotland, United Kingdom - from Aug 2022 until Sep 2022
    View all
  • Description

    We are Kevin and Laura from St. Petersburg, Florida. The two of us met while traveling in Crete (Greece), instantly became friends and quickly became a couple residing in Florida. Having a couple of small local projects under our belt, we quickly discovered we compliment each other well when working together on projects. These projects consisted of painting, upholstery, fixing antique furniture, electrical, choosing furnishings, and hanging shelves and renovating an entire kitchen (counters, wall, elec., plumbing, etc)
    We are a friendly, personable, adventurous, and honest couple that have great work ethics, eager to help you. It will be exciting for us to learn more about your country, culture and language. We enjoy all sorts of destinations, especially natural settings and are so excited by the opportunities the Workaway experience offers. Fortunately, we are able to take time in our life to travel to meet new people, immerse ourselves in new cultures, and share our knowledge and skills. These are some of the reasons we decided to join the Workaway family.

  • Interests

    Sailing / Boating
    Yoga / Wellness
    Outdoor activities
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    Eco Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Kevin has an architectural degree and uses CAD (Computer Aided Drafting/Designing) to design residential and commercial structures, museum displays, and many other small projects. His detail-oriented approach to projects allows him to trouble shoot many issues before they come up. Kevin has great problem-solving abilities and organizational skills. He knows how to use most power tools and has completed various home construction projects including installation of a full bathroom, framing walls, installing drywall, electrical, plumbing, painting, replacing windows and siding.
    Kevin is currently restoring a 1972 center console 18’ (5.5m) aluminum boat, removing the entire interior and rebuilding it, including the transom, flooring, benches, re-wiring, and center console. His dad has been a boat salesman for 45 years, so he has been around boats his whole life. He learned to pilot a 25’ (7.6m) boat at the age of 12 and has been piloting 18’ to 32’ boats ever since. Kevin also has some basic auto repair knowledge and is an excellent driver.
    Kevin enjoys working with his hands, hiking, cooking, animals, being outside, light gardening, doing calculations, working with numbers, and loves meeting new people. He is very positive and very personable.
    A review from a previous Workaway host (from a different profile I previously had):

    "They arrived at our hurricane-damaged property and quickly went to work making a list of project suggestions, following which they commenced the work on the selected areas. I have only positive things to say about their skills, dedication and work ethic. Must also mention and thank them for their incredible baking skills, which added to the familial and team-building atmosphere. Kevin's friendliness and spirit of generosity was well noted by other team members, and their professional approach to tasks was a welcome skill. They undertook projects involving carpentry, power-washing, painting, etc., and took amazing care of our pets. I would not hesitate to recommend this couple to future hosts and would hope to see them return to us in the very near future."

    Laura is a Florida real estate agent and interior decorator. Previous to that she was a painter for 6 years, painting interior walls, ceilings, trim, stripping wallpaper etc. She works for owners of Airbnb condos furnishing, decorating and painting the condos. Laura finds all the furnishings and accessories from hotel liquidators, thrift stores and yard sales and transforms them on a budget to create a cohesive, welcoming and comfortable living space based on a theme she or the owner has chosen. She has also done some basic sewing projects and furniture upholstery for these condos and a complete inventory and organization of a 4 BR house in the Bahamas for another client. Instead of throwing something out, she enjoys making small repairs or changes to make them work and also enjoys altering thrift store items.
    One of Laura's loves is spending time with her 3 granddaughters. She will take them for a day or a weekend and spend time outdoors in nature playing games, cooking/baking, and just getting quality time with them. When Halloween comes around, she lets the grandchildren pick what ever they want to be and can sew costumes for each of them as well as herself. She enjoys the company of animals and has done pet sitting for 3 dogs at her home and farm-sitting at a small farm taking care of chickens, goats, ducks, dogs and a cat. She enjoys being outdoors gardening, hiking, camping and boating. To stay healthy, she eats organic and gluten free foods whenever possible.

    Together, we are just getting our feet wet in the social media market and thought Workaway would be a great opportunity to enhance our skills and help hosts with their profiles. We have the creativity and equipment to photograph, paint, decorate, arrange furniture, organize and clean. Also, to create effective content for ads, marketing, and descriptions to help you capture your audience's attention.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    More details about my language interests
    we are always interested in he language spoken wherever we are. But to learn it in such a short period of time, another subject. We would like to learn some of the most common phrases though.

    Find a language buddy

  • Age

    54 & 61

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Kevin - seeds and nuts (just cannot digest)




Competition photos