Kerstin

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Spain

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/04/2018 - 06/08/2019

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! I am a cheerful, curious, respectful, and hardworking Canadian, setting out to travel the world! My goal is to gain new skills (both work and language skills) while meeting people from diverse backgrounds and making a positive impact on the world around me. Right now, I'm mostly travelling in France because I have a work permit there that allows me to stay for a full year.

    Over the years, I have worked in customer service, event planning, website content/social media, mapping, babysitting, and costume design. I have also volunteered as a cultural mentor and English assistant for international students at my university. My education is in theatre and visual arts (high school) and geography (university). I find the most fulfillment when I am teaching or serving other people.

    As someone who doesn't like to be wasteful, I always look for ways to fix or reuse things. I am quite resourceful, always looking up how to do new things like making my own toothpaste and lotion, or planting vegetables, or fixing my bike. I love creating and working with my hands. I learn new skills quickly and solve problems calmly.
    I am looking for workaways that are both welcoming and challenging, where I can contribute my time and skills to make a positive difference. I want to learn whatever you can teach me!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Customer service and sales, social media, leadership, event planning, writing/editing in English, cleaning/tidying, painting/drawing, sewing, cooking, baking, basic bike maintenance, positive attitude!
    I have an international driver's license and can drive a standard transmission vehicle.

  • Languages spoken

    English, Swedish (intermediate), French (intermediate), Spanish (beginner)

  • Age

    27

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    Cultural exchange: I love music, dancing, bicycles, and food. I can teach you what I know about swing dancing, basic bike maintenance, Swedish and "Canadian" cuisine (really, we just eat a mix of foods from around the world!), and baking breads and cookies. I want to learn to surf, bartend, and garden and other kinds of dancing. I am also curious about diverse cultures and lifestyles.
    Language exchange: I am a total language nerd. I will happily give tips or even basic lessons to anyone who wants to improve their English. I also want to learn and improve my skills in other languages through immersion, lessons, or conversations!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Profile is connected to:

arthurt


Photos

Skiing in my hometown of Whitehorse, Canada
Learning to surf at a Workaway, Sayulita, Mexico
Hiking with the French immersion crew, Montréal, Canada
Swing dancing after hiking a mountain, Kluane National Park, Canada
A Workaway side-project: painting room numbers and "Baños" signs

Feedback