Kerri

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Indonesia, Japan, Singapore

  • ...

    Travel dates

    13/12/2019 - 25/03/2020

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    As a former WWoof host in the UK (3 years with over 100 volunteers), I taught helpers livestock management, kitchen gardening and sustainable living, whilst running a number of holiday lets, with farm shop, restaurant and bar on site.
    I have also volunteered in Uganda, Africa (December 2016-February 2017), completing various projects with 2 hosts. Projects included: creating a website, implementing a volunteer programme, raising social media profiles, teaching basic English, helping at a HIV/AIDs clinic, teaching water purification programmes, gardening, cooking, making bricks, plastering & painting volunteer unit, looking after livestock and organising business development advice clinics to name a few.
    As a workaway volunteer during September 2017, I also worked at Hostel Bol in Croatia for 4 weeks, taking bookings, working reception, cleaning rooms, washing and ironing all the linens, etc
    In 2018, I travelled India and Sri Lanka for 3 months, whilst this wasn’t volunteer focussed, I did set up a volunteer programme in a Buddhist school in northern Sri Lanka.
    I am well mannered, articulate and conscientious person who is able to converse in a polite and courteous manner. I have a sympathetic attitude and able to listen attentively at all times.
    I can contribute extensively to team work and always display a willing and helpful manner. I possess excellent leadership skills having run a farm with mainly a volunteer based foundation of support. Prior to this I was Head of Operations and Training, so teaching is an academic as well as practical passion of mine. Currently i work as a manager in events, travelling around the UK, predominately for the automotive industry.
    Exercise is also a large part of my life, usually doing between 15 hours per week in cardio, strength and core work.
    I have great inter-personal and communication skills and am very approachable, cheerful and friendly. I am fully aware of the needs of a contemporary and diverse / multicultural society.
    Having been inspired by the many great volunteers I have had on site, I am now looking to make an effective contribution as a volunteer myself.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    AREAS OF EXPERTISE
    Managing hostels from cleaning , bookings and arrivals and departures.
    Teaching volunteers about sustainable living
    Teaching healthcare employees
    Leadership & Management
    Livestock maintenance
    Sustainable living
    Corporate Operations
    IT, Website & Social Media Development
    Starting up Businesses/Advising on Change Management
    Event Organisation
    PERSONAL SKILLS
    Leadership
    Team Player
    Sympathetic attitude
    Good listener
    Presentable & articulate
    Practical
    Personal Training in Cardio, strength and core work

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    48

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    KEY SKILLS AND COMPETENCIES
    Determined to making a difference to individual & communities. Patient, approachable and non-judgemental. Having a mature and professional attitude towards working conditions. Extensive experience of working with livestock/farm maintenance & people from a variety of backgrounds. Confident, articulate and with excellent communication skills. Good working knowledge of Microsoft Office software. Knowledge of nutritional, exercise, security, water & sanitation, & basic health issues.

    I would consider any type of volunteer work for 1-8 weeks.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback