Kelvin

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia (Slovak Republic), Slovenia, Ukraine

  • ...

    Travel dates

    25/05/2021 - 30/07/2021

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    At home


    Language Practice, Cultural Exchange, cycling, hiking, Archery, Kayaking, Skating, Basketball, Soccer, Techno Music, European culture, Japanese Culture, Asian food, European Food

  • Description

    I am a university student from Toronto, Canada with a major in English and dreams of becoming an ESL teacher (and will be graduating end of this year)! I started volunteering as a Workawayer two years ago and would like to do it every year!

    Most of the projects that I have been helping with are language teaching at schools and summer camps, curriculum planning, leading group activities and games, playing with kids, and helping around the house. Apart from the serious "work", I love to do something interesting with my hosts, such as testing different recipes, cooking together, cycling, hiking, playing soccer and basketball, and even rope climbing challenge! When volunteering at local schools, I enjoyed playing language games and having meaningful conversations with students. I think that the best way to engage students into their lesson is to have fun with them and become a part of them!

    Other than that, I would be very happy to discover some new hobbies! Recently, I have been very fond of decorating and reshaping my bikes (it used to be a popular street-culture in my home city- Hong Kong around 90s-2000s, feeling a bit nostalgic). I am also trying to learn Spanish and Polish (and maybe French!). If you have other ideas about what we could enjoy and explore together, please let me know!
    See you soon!

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Adventure sports
    Cycling
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Languages
    Art & design
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Music
    Cooking & food
    Culture
    Events & social
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

    Some knowledge of:  

    Charity Work
    Art Projects

    Able to teach about:  

    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    Near-Native English (English speaking, writing, reading and listening), Motivation, public speaking, intercultural communication, social service worker (college diploma and placement), customer service, leadership, interpersonal and communication skills, drawing, painting, cooking ( my own recipes), mentoring children and teenagers, basketball, jogging, kayaking, creativity , enthusiasm

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    Polish: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Canadian (born in Hong Kong)

  • What else ...

    English major student currently living in Toronto, Canada and working part-time as a customer service representative. Experienced in supervising crew members, scheduling, and training. Interpersonal skills. Spontaneous. A go-getter. English, Chinese (Cantonese only), sports, drawing and painting, fantasy and action movie lover. Enthusiastic about trying new things and embracing different cultures!
    My favorite number is 6. I'll tell you why when we contact each other!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, but grilled meat, pasta, perogies, sushi and salads are my favorites

Photos

Feedback