Kauri

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Serbia, Spain, Turkey

  • ...

    Travel dates

    07/03/2019 - 31/01/2022

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    Hi! My name is Kauri, I am a traveler and adventurer. I love learning new things, and experiencing different ways of life. I like learning new recipes, trying new foods, and seeing new places. I also love to dance and to play sports, not that I consider myself good at either, haha.

    I am mom to a wild and sweet young girl named Ovi. She will be traveling, and likely "working", with me. In many ways, she is very much a mini me: she will follow me where I go, do what I do (or play nearby if my task is uninteresting to her), we are both pretty happy with our surroundings wherever we might be, as long as we've eaten and rested! She loves art, animals, books, pasta, music... well, there's not much she doesn't like. We are also both VERY goofy and love to sing!

    I am an accounting assistant most recently, a sales clerk before that, a carpenter's apprentice before that, an unpaid farm intern before that... The list goes on! I have a wide range of experience - a jack of all trades, if you will, though certainly a master of none. In high school, I volunteered as an Outdoor School student leader, teaching middle school kids about plants, animals, and soil.

    We are looking for hosts in various countries to learn about how people live in different parts of the world. We would love to be hosted by a family with children, but we are looking to become part of whatever kind of family you have! Ovi and I are very laid back and adaptable to new situations. We are very neat and tidy (Ovi maybe even more so than myself!), and we love to be social, as well as have some time to ourselves.

    We look forward to meeting some great new people through our Workaway experiences!

  • Interests

    Camping
    Hitchhiking
    Adventure sports
    Hiking
    Farming
    Languages
    Music
    Cooking & food
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Being an elderly companion
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Language practice

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    Carpentry and building with hand tools and power tools
    Gardening/farming and yard work
    Childminding and some rusty teaching skills
    Basic accounting practices
    Computer trouble, Microsoft Office help
    Household work and cooking

    If the need arises, I can often give pretty good insight on issues, and I am great at playing "Devil's advocate" ;)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    United States

  • What else ...

    I will be traveling with my young daughter and would like for most, if not all, of my Workaway duties to able to be performed with her, or while she plays nearby. And of course it's a bonus if there are other kids around to play with, instead!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback