Katrin

From: Austria

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Greece, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    03/10/2019 - 13/12/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi Guys,
    I'm Katrin, 23 years old and from Austria. I grew up in a small town in the middle of the Austrian Alps.
    When I was 19 I discovered the fulfillment of travelling. I spent an amazing year in Normandy, France where I did an European Voluntary Service (EVS). There I was working at a cultural organisation - helping with events, sharing Austrian culture,working with children and youngsters. That year definitely changed a lot in my mind and since that experience I'm really into travelling and learning about other countries, cultures and languages.

    After my year abroad I came back to Austria, worked in the tourism trade and studied 'Applied Cultural Studies' for a while. I still did some short trips in Europe, but I know I feel like its time for a bigger adventure.
    I'm going to do start a longterm travel by the end of summer. I want to start with south-east Europe, spending some time in Greece and then heading over to Asia.
    I want to get to know people, hear their stories and meanings of life, their cultures, their languages. I want to see the world and its beautiful places that people and nature created. I want to travel slow and spend at least 4-6 weeks in one country to really get to know it. I can't wait to try out new things and I'm open to learn a lot.

    Last autumn I decided to drop out of college because it was not the right thing for me. So now I'm also searching a bit for a new career direction. I try to find out in which kind of work field I can imagine to work and which are the passions that I would like to follow. For that I think its a really good idea to get away for sometime and learn and try out new things - broaden my horizon.

    What else can I tell you about myself?
    I love the beauty of mother nature and a beautiful sunset can make me cry. I enjoy being outside and move - going for a hike in the mountains, a bike tour or just a walk a the beach. Last year I did a climbing course, a new passion which I would love to follow.
    Moreover I'm interested in doing creative things like painting, drawing, sewing or photographing. I like to use my hands and create something new. I love yoga and recently I started to meditate a bit - both helps me to clear my mind when there is to much going on inside.
    I would say I'm a calm person, but I Iike to get to know people, to chat and to have good, deep talks - so a mix between intro- and extrovert. I'm humorous and like to have fun and laugh a lot. People usually describe me as friendly and very helpful.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    I would really like to work something where I can use my hands. I like gardening and I can also imagine to paint and build things. Last summer I helped to renovate a friends appartement and I did some gardening with my grandpa before. Plants make me happy. I'm not a professionell, but I'm willing to try new things and I'm a quicke learner :-)
    I love animals and I can also imagine to help with animals or on a farm.
    I also like to cook, I mostly cook vegetarian meals for myself and for family. My dad ,who worked as a cook and as a baker, showed me some tricks.

    I attended a school for 'Fashion and Marketing' in Austria, so I'm a dressmaker and I can sew and alter clothes. I also have some Photoshop and Adobe Indesign skills. In general I'm good with computers.

    When I was in France, I worked at a cultural organisation. There I helped with small events, I organised some own events like a cultural evening or some cooking workshops about Austria and I worked with children and youngsters. For example we tried to teach some German to children while playing games.

    I'm fluent in German, English and French (as I'm not using French often, I tend to forget a lot, but still I can communicate in a good way). So I could also help with teaching languages. I also have some basic Russian skills. Languages interest me and I'm curious about learning some more.
    Moreover I did some jobs in the tourism trade. I worked in a skischool selling skitickets and courses, at a climbing park and at a hotel. I grew up in a tourism region, so I know how to deal with tourists and guests :-)

  • Languages spoken

    German, English, French

  • Age

    24

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      I try to be vegetarian, I only eat organic meat.

Photos

Denmark, Summer 2018
Me and my cousin in Sweden.

Feedback