journeywoman

  • United States
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    At home

  • Description

    I was born in the desert of New Mexico but have spent most of my life in Los Angeles, California. I am a nomad at heart, feeling disenchanted with big city life and excited about traveling to places where I can see the night sky properly! I am looking to meet and help people in beautiful natural landscapes, learn new skills and ways of living, and share my own skills as I can.

    I am an artistic, hardworking, honest woman who enjoys working with others as a team and also independently with my own focus. I am calm natured and highly value quiet time alone but I am also very cheerful and sociable. I try to adapt to whatever the situation calls for.

    I studied World Arts and Cultures and Library and Information Science in school and have traveled in the US, North Africa, Middle East, Asia, Europe, and the UK.

    My interests besides travel include arts and crafts, world and ancient music, being in nature, museums (natural history in particular), dance, wildlife, ancient histories, folklore, falconry, earth building, sacred spaces, star-gazing and travel photography. I am a spiritual person, also interested in meditation and various healing arts, aromatherapy and essential oils. I have been learning and practicing tai chi for over 15 years.

    I love working with my hands doing creative projects. At one WorkAway I made and packaged hand made chocolate, soap, and beauty products and enjoyed every moment! I do some gardening at home and would love to learn more about caring for gardens, trees, crops, etc. I enjoy baking and welcome the chance to learn new recipes. I love animals (had a cat companion for 10+ years) and would like to learn more about animal care. I enjoy living a healthy lifestyle with fresh wholesome foods and welcome the chance to learn more about living closer to the land be it growing food or building homes.

    As a traveler I have been interested for a long time in how traveler accommodations such as hostels, BnB’s, and retreat centers are run. I would like to experience helping “behind the scenes” in daily tasks in such places. At one WorkAway I helped with setup, assisting customers, and clearing away/cleaning tables of their onsite cafe and enjoyed the satisfaction of helping to ensure that things ran smoothly for customers and staff. At another WorkAway I did the changeover of bedrooms in a small Bnb. In both cases I appreciate taking responsibility for the tidiness and friendly atmosphere there and I love meeting locals and people visiting from all over the world.

    I prefer to stay longer in one place so that I can learn more about the people, communities, culture, and the land where I am staying. My intention is to volunteer with a host for a minimum of one month so that there is enough time to get to know these things, to get a “feel” of my surroundings.

  • Interests

    Mountain
    Beach
    Nature
    Fitness
    Yoga / Wellness
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Architecture
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting
    DIY & crafts
    Books
    Movies & TV

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    Helping around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
  • More details about your skills

    ORGANIZING
    Sorting, de-cluttering, and tidying of furniture, books, kitchenware, papers and clothes. I am the person who sees a mess and gets very excited to tidy it up. For my first WorkAway host I created a detailed reference guide from my own notes on House Guidelines that we printed for future volunteers to use. At my last WorkAway I organized their Library collection.

    PAINTING & DECORATING
    I have painted the interior walls of my apartment multiple times over the years and have helped family and friends with their indoor paint jobs as well. I also really enjoy decorating. Feeling peaceful in a physical space is a wonderful thing to me and decorating is one way to achieve this.

    PHOTOGRAPHY
    I have been told that I have a “good eye” for things and this translates into the travel photography which I love taking.

    ATTENTION TO DETAIL
    I have a lot of experience working in libraries and museums - physically handling rare artifacts and using complex databases and spreadsheets to keep track of artifacts, art exhibitions and workflow schedules. At my last WorkAway I packaged handmade chocolate and beauty products. Both require close attention to detail and delicate handling such as cutting out and attaching tiny barcode labels to products, tying ribbon bows, piping fillings into and attaching nut decorations onto truffles, and counting out exact pieces of chocolates into packaging without transferring chocolate dust onto their bags.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    49

  • Nationality

    American

  • What else ...

    I am sensitive to cigarette and marijuana smoke and also synthetic fragrances (found in perfumes/colognes, etc).

    I have an American driver’s license.

    I think children are wonderful but I am not looking to do childminding as part of my volunteering.

    I will be traveling with health coverage.

    I am looking to stay with a host for a minimum of one month.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Most nuts (almonds are ok though)

    • Special dietary requirements
      None

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback