Joshua & Hui-Ling

From: Germany & Taiwan

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    24/09/2019 - 15/05/2020

  • Badges

    Explorer

  • Description

    Hi future host,

    here a bit of info about Hui-Ling (Sherry) and myself.

    Breaking german traditions I will start with the donkey first. My name is Josh, I have experienced life on this planet for 21 years now and grew up in a small country town in Germany. I am a deep thinker, love to fulfill myself in things and realize my ideas in all kinds of ways. I live life as it is, love to experience every day and moment, the whole thing, there is nothing good or bad.

    I am on workaway because I am interested in experiencing living a life off grid, how it is to craft and build your own place, own ideas, engineering a living around life, fulfilling ones ideas and impulses, freely expressing oneself and working for oneself on own plans and realizing ones passions. I am hungry to learn and experience from people living like this, practical skills as well as their way of thinking.

    I am computer literate due to finishing high school in IT, fluent in English, German and also speak a bit of Chinese. I have experience with heavy machinery (tractors, bobcats etc) from working on a farm in Australia as a tractor driver, I have taught English in Taiwan and love to work with children, I have worked hard and long days in harsh weather conditions, I love to do physical labour too as well as to get my hands dirty. I love technical things, engineering how to build things the best way and to solve problems. I love to put my mind into something and think it through to the smallest details. I can cook and know a few delicious recipes that I'd love to share as well.

    Most recently I have stayed at Desolation Sound Resort in BC, Canada where I, surrounded by this breathtaking nature, gathered a stronger interest especially in woodwork and carpentry, building, designing and crafting. By the time I am ready to work I will hopefully have finished my own little project of camperizing my van.

    Cheers on life, Josh



    Dear future workaway host,

    I am Sherry, from Taipei Taiwan, 22 years old.

    I have a passion for traveling, art, drawing, music and I truly love to be around and with animals and connect with nature.

    I am on workaway to try myself at painting or working with animals, as well as getting in touch with creative minds. Furthermore I want to open my mind to all the kinds of jobs and ways people make a living with around the world.

    I have worked hard in construction, and on farms in Australia, prepared Sushi and sold food in restaurants, I have sales experience working as a telephone salesperson in Taiwan and most recently worked as a housekeeper in the Desolation Sound Resort. I really love to try working in all kinds of different fields. My level of English is B1 and I am fluent in Chinese-Mandarin.

    I am looking forward to join your team and get insights into new ways of living!

    Sherry

  • Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Joshua:

    4 months experience as a Machine Operator in vulcanisation in Germany
    3 months experience as a Cotton Irrigator in Australia
    4 months experience as a Tractor Driver in Australia (also gathered experience with power tools and chemicals here)
    8 months experience as an English Teacher in Taiwan
    6 months experience as a Receptionist and Housekeeping Teamleader in Canada

    High School graduation with focus on fields of IT, English and Chemistry, GPA 3.4/4
    Language proficiency: German mother tongue, English fluent, Chinese level A1

    Drivers License Class 5 and own transport


    Hui-Ling:

    4 months experience as a Dental Assistant in Taiwan
    8 months experience as a Fruit Picker and Packer in Australia
    2 months experience as a Construction Helper in Australia
    5 months experience as a Sushi Preparer in Australia
    10 months experience as a Telephone Salesperson in Taiwan
    6 months experience as a Housekeeper in Canada

    Vocational high school graduation graduation
    Language proficiency: Chinese mother tongue, English level B1
    Workplace Health and Safety Queensland Construction Induction Course Australia


    We both have a valid IEC working visa

  • Languages spoken

    English, German, Chinese

  • Age

    21 & 23

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Hui-Ling: allergic to certain kinds of seafood e.g. prawns

    • Special dietary requirements
      Hui-Ling: no red meat

Feedback