Josh

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Australia, Cambodia, Colombia, India, New Zealand, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    06/01/2020 - 31/07/2020

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer
    Explorer

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    After 14 years of teaching, I've decided that I've earned a "gap" year that I never took after high school. I've taught all grades from Pre-Kindergarten to Grade 12, in all subjects including Math, English, and Health (and others - Social Studies, Science, Outdoor Education, Physical Education, Technology, etc.). My university degrees are in Kinesiology (Physical Education), Elementary Education with a Master's in Educational Technology.
    I'm Canadian, having grown up in Calgary, and lived my whole life there... until I took a teaching job in Bermuda for the past three years. Maybe that's what has rekindled this desire to travel.
    My plan is to travel to all parts of the world and really experience what education means in each place I visit. I want to explore how the world educates the next generation. I believe that the values of childhood and education are universal and uniting, regardless of race, religion or culture. I want to learn and experience schools and educational programs that operate in all environments, conditions, economic levels and backgrounds. I plan to document my experiences and have started the early stages of my project called "Schooling Humans". My goal is to profile inspiring educators, innovative programs and impactful schools by sharing their stories through videos and articles. I want other teachers and schools to learn from one another.

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Eco Projects
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    What I lack in manual labour skills, I make up for in my desire to learn new things. I want to use my year off to gain new skills and learn in areas that I've never tried before. I'm interested in anything related to carpentry, agriculture, animal care or just basic manual labour.

    I enjoy photography and videography, but don't claim to be a professional - just an amateur enthusiast.

    Most of my skills come from the classroom, related to education, teaching, fitness, and athletics.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Age

    38

  • Nationality

    Canadian

  • What else ...

    My main goal (other than learning new skills and helping out with projects and programs) is to document different types of education around the world. This would include using some of my free time to do photography, videography and interview people involved in your program. Please let me know if you have any issue with the publication of these forms of media online on my website, Facebook group, Instagram, YouTube or any other social media that relates to my "Schooling Humans" brand.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Photos

Feedback