Josh

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    01/06/2019 - 30/09/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    731

  • Badges

    Top Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    G'day,
    Like most of the lovely people using Workaway i am an avid traveler. I have been to most countries in Europe, South America and South East Asia. I believe that to help understand oneself you must try to understand other cultures. Through this belief i have done my best to see as much of the world as possible and i plan to see a whole lot more. I have always worked hard to give myself the best chance to do this. I was raised in the countryside and believe that this upbringing has given me a great work ethic and friendly social skills.
    Throughout my twenties and in between my backpacking adventures i have been gathering experience and education in a range of fields, all of which are linked and have been useful to my career development.
    Initially i studied Environmental Horticulture at the University of Melbourne. On completing this degree i had obtained a broad knowledge of plants and took specific interest in landscape architecture, sustainability and permaculture.
    I have since been working in landscape construction which has given me a great understanding of building. During my 6 years doing this trade i have mastered a variety of skills including how to lay pavers and concrete as well as build decks and walls. Additional knowledge i have gathered in this profession is a great understanding of irrigation, excavation, stone work, electrical and plumbing.
    Furthermore, the company i have been employed with for the past three years has positioned me as a supervisor. This has given me the opportunity to manage both small and large teams and has demanded a high level of responsibility which i have thoroughly enjoyed.
    In 2015 i completed my post graduate studies in Garden Design which has increasingly developed my passion for this field. I am confident that when i am ready to settle into a career it will involve a combination of design, construction and sustainability.
    This is where i think Workaway can be mutually beneficially, both for me and my situation as well as you the host. I hope to learn as much as possible about Eco projects, Organic Farming, Ethical Animal Husbandry, Aquaculture, Permaculture and Sustainable practices. In return i will share my knowledge and skills to the best of my ability.

    *️️️UPDATE*️️️ (2019)

    After my amazing Workaway adventure in 2017 I have decided to come back to Europe to learn some more skills and meet some more inspiring people. I discovered so much about volunteering and the hosting lifestyle that I would like to give it another go.
    I learned that I am very well suited to the 'you help me, i help you' way of life. I think because of my background in training young apprentices in landscape construction and being an educator myself I am suited to working alongside the hosts and helping the less experienced volunteers.

    I am looking to further my knowledge of building with natural materials and living 'off-grid' as I will be pursuing this dream myself in the near future.

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project

  • What skills do you have?

    Landscape Construction skills - Paving, Concreting, Decking, Brick work, Retaining walls, Irrigation, Planting, Earth works, Excavation, Demolishing, Drainage.

    Machinery skills - Bobcat, Excavator, Chainsaw, Welder, all hand held power tools.

    Landscape Design skills - Computer Designing programs, Understand plans, Creative thinking, Artistic, Problem Solving

    Horticultural skills - Permaculture, Soil and its properties, Plant knowledge, Composting, Pest and Diseases.

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    31

  • Nationality

    Australian

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Pretty happy with myself here after enduring some serious food poisoning on a 3 day jungle trek. Luang Namtha, Laos. 2016
Enjoying a mountain top view with some great mates. Mount Feathertop, Victoria, Australia. 2017
Hitch hiking in Laos. 2017

Feedback