Jordan

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, United States

  • ...

    Travel dates

    02/09/2019 - 31/12/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    144

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • My status

    Travelling


    Gardening, building, cleaning, learning

  • Description

    Greetings,
    I am reaching out through Workaway to find other like minded individuals to learn, work, and network with.
    I have been actively working on becoming sovereign humans by exploring alternative lifestyles, spiritual practices, food/medicine security, learning how to be caretakers for Mother Earth, and peacefully co-exist with other Beings here with us. My health and well-being is highly important therefore I want to learn more about food cultivation/preservation, making medicines, plant/fungi identification, shelter construction (cob houses, hemp-crete, adobe, yurts, etc), and much more.

    As I have been traveling around I have found that this world is not what I thought it was, both positive and negative, therefore, I have been imagining and working towards living the way I would like the world to be. This includes reviving an on-going relationship with Nature to support myself rather than relying on manufactured 'goods' and corporations, learning to make my own clothes from animals/plants/fungi, going back to a trade/barter system with others, and taking back my sovereignty. Through this exploration, I have uncovered a passion working with Mother Earth and all that she provides for us and seeing the hope for this world is right in front of me if I am willing to listen and act upon it. I thoroughly enjoy working with animals, plants, fungi, soil, dream work, singing, medicine making, sewing, using natural fibers for clothing/crafts, dancing, music, languages, ancestry, astrology/astronomy, hiking, kayaking, and much more. I would love to learn how to use a chainsaw, weld, drive a manual vehicle/tractor, further my skills with carpentry/sewing/animals/gardening/medicine making/cooking, and learn what skills it takes to be self sufficient. I enjoy traveling to new places and experiencing what its like to live there for a few weeks+ rather than a quick couple days.

  • Interests

    Beach
    Nature
    Camping
    Sailing / Boating
    Water sports
    Yoga / Wellness
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Carpentry
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Pets
    Languages
    Art & design
    Performing arts
    Drawing & painting

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
  • More details about your skills

    I feel confident saying I am hard-working, lively, adaptable, compassionate, detail-orientated, able to work with others as well as alone, communicable, a passionate learner, and able to listen well and follow directions. I have done some carpentry work; I framed a door and window in a small green house, built some sets for theatre plays in college, and worked alongside with my father when I was younger. Good with house keeping chores and not afraid to get dirty when working. I'm no chef but I can cook and I enjoy baking. I've done house cleaning, house sitting, pet sitting, customer service (barista, waitress, and retail). I've now gotten my feet wet with cob building and would love to expand on that whenever possible.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Age

    26

  • What else ...

    I have experienced living outside as we have back-packed/hitch-hiked for a couple months, lived out of a tent while working jobs, and lived in a van/RV in the US.

    I am pretty easy going, I like to eat fruit, learn, and connect with others.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      N/A

    • Special dietary requirements
      Mainly vegan

Photos

Feedback