Jonathan

  • Malaysia
  • Login to see the last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • My status

    Travelling

  • Description

    My name is Jono and I am sojourner. I live a working-traveling lifestyle from one place to another. I am currently training to be a Human Potential Coach but most qualified as a Mountain Guide, which I serve at a professional capacity in Alaska, Patagonia, New Zealand and Iceland. My other jobs as expedition leader, snow professional and English teacher also take me to different parts of the world and work with people of all ages.

    But I prefer to think that I am much more than just what I do or where I live. I have many other interests and passions which have nothing to do with my job. Or rather, what I chose to do to make money compliment my wider interests in traveling and life philosophy, non-monetary economics, sustainable living, social activism, etc to name a few.

    I am constantly evolving and changing. But I hope I will always remained open minded, enthusiastic and excited about the world. That I will wear a smile and always ready to lend a hand. That is quintessential Jono.

    Currently seeking placement Southern Hemisphere winter (June, August-October) 2020 and then Northern Hemisphere winter 2020-2021 Nov 20- Apr 21.

    Looking to ski instruct and/or help run/manage a ski/mountain lodge/shop. Big winter fan, love hardwork and the cold!

  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Babysitting and creative play
    Being an elderly companion
    General Maintenance
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Art Projects

    Some knowledge of:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Charity Work
    Helping with Computers/ Internet

    Able to teach about:  

    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Teaching
  • More details about your skills

    Canadian Ski Instructor Alliance Lv.2 Ski Instructor. Canadian Avalanche Association Operation Lv. 1.

    Wilderness Emergency Medical Technician. NOLS Mountaineering Instructor. Leave No Trace Master Educator.

    Regularly cook for over 20 clients in mountain hut.

    World Challenge (UK) Expedition Leader. Certified TEFL Teacher. Cleared to work with children (UK).

    Clean criminal record. Clean driving record. European driving license Class D (Bus).

    Certified Human Potential Coach.

    I've traveled to and/or worked in many countries at many different capacities. That includes working in an office for an International organisation in the hot and humid Malaysia to guiding professionally on Glacier ice in the volatile West Coast of New Zealand, wild Patagonia and Iceland. I am also a certified TEFL teacher having taught multiple camps in Poland and South America. I love working with Youth and Children.

    I have also worked as a gardener, shepherding in a merino sheep dairy farm, fencing work, mussel harvesting, stone fruits thinning, picking and packing.

    I am interested in learning anything new, and I strive to undertake every task with all my heart and a positive attitude.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Indonesian: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Icelandic: Beginner
    Malay: Beginner

  • Age

    36

  • Nationality

    Malaysian, currently reside in Iceland

  • What else ...

    Here is my CouchSurfing profile if you would like to read a bit about what others say about me.
    https://www.couchsurfing.org/people/jonoisaguide/

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Dustmite.

    • Special dietary requirements
      Love real food.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback